Special Collections & Archives

On July 10, 2024, we celebrated the grand opening of the Vivian R. and Ralph Jacobson Special Collections. With a beautiful new reading room and a state-of-the-art archival storage space, we can now host researchers in a modern and sophisticated area. The new space, named for author and lecturer, Vivian R. Jacobson and her late husband, Ralph, houses the Jacobson Chagall Art Research Collection in addition to our other wonderful collections housed here at the Livermore Library. 

About Vivian R. Jacobson:

Vivian R. Jacobson has been a lecturer on Marc Chagall since 1978 and has presented in twenty-two states, Europe, and Israel. She is highly praised as an outstanding lecturer, author, and historian on the artist. She was President of the American Friends of the Chagall Biblical Museum, Nice, France from 1978 – 1982 and Chairman of the Chagall Tapestry Project, Chicago, Illinois from 1982 – 1986. She has been an honored lecturer on Chagall for the North Carolina Humanities Council. Jacobson was privileged to work with Chagall the last eleven years of his life. In August of 2020, she donated her entire collection of Chagall books, exhibition catalogues, articles, photos, etc. to the University of North Carolina at Pembroke. Her collection is known as the Jacobson Chagall Art Research Collection and is now available worldwide for scholars and students. Vivian Jacobson personally signed her book Sharing Chagall: A Memoir at the end of the lecture.