In complement to the university’s mission statement, Mary Livermore Library's Special Collections and Archives enhances the research and teaching endeavors of the University of North Carolina at Pembroke through carefully curated primary and secondary sources. As the repository for and steward of the libraries' rare and unique materials, the Special Collections and Archives builds distinctive and unique collections in local history, the history and cultures of southeastern American Indians, university history, and more. These collections range from manuscripts to oral histories, photographs, ephemera, and digital records.
Semester hours of operation and exceptions to these hours will be listed on the library homepage. Appointments may also be requested for times outside of these hours. Appointments can be made through the Schedule an Appointment form or by contacting the Special Collections staff directly. Physical items are available for in-library research purposes to students, faculty/staff, and researchers-at-large. Digital collections can be accessed at any time by anyone on or off campus via the library’s website. Alternatively, individuals may request digital reproductions through the library’s website.
by David Hibbard, The Laurinburg Exchange
The Wes Taukchiray Research on Southeast American Indians Collection is now available in Special Collections at Livermore Library. Make an appointment today to view this collection!
Click on the slide to book an appointment.
The Lumbee newspaper now available! Mary Livermore Library has digitized 121 issues of The Lumbee newspaper between 1965-1969.
Inspired to Heal: Sharing Chagall
by Christine Hall, Sandhills Magazine
The Constitution of the Lumbee Tribe of Cheraw Indians
Available via Livermore Library's Digital Collections
The Al Kahn Robeson County Bicentennial Collection shares dozens of short stories about the unique and powerful history of Robeson County, North Carolina.
Available via Livermore Library's Digital Collections
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke Special Collections supports education, research, and public service through stewardship of materials of a rare and unique nature. Curatorial areas include materials that document the diverse culture and history of the Lumbee Tribe, Southeastern American Indians, American Indian education, and the local community as it relates to the educational mission of the institution. Additional collections that support the curriculum of UNCP may be added as appropriate on a case-by-case basis.
The University Archives supports education, research, and public service through stewardship of university records and open engagement with the evolving historical record of the University of North Carolina at Pembroke. The University Archives is the official repository for the historically valuable, unpublished records of both the University of North Carolina at Pembroke and the major administrative offices of the UNC System headquartered in Pembroke. The University Archives assists UNCP employees with records management, provides training and consultations about state and university policies regarding the retention and disposition of official records, and works with the State Archives to maintain and update the UNC General Records Retention and Disposition Schedule.
Special Collections collects and preserves rare and unique materials including rare books, oral histories, manuscripts, photography, visual materials, art, and artifacts. Collections are preserved for use by students and faculty/staff of UNCP, members of the community, and by the scholarly community at large.
At the discretion of the department head, the Special Collections department may collect materials, in any format, that support its mission. Acquisitions are made through donations, and occasionally through purchases for select books that support the mission statement. Donations to Special Collections are considered on a case-by-case basis. Donations must be accepted by the department, and all donors must complete a Gift Agreement Form.
Examples of types of items collected for Special Collections currently include:
Special Collections and Archives Statement on Harmful Language and Content in Collections
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke’s Livermore Library Special Collections and Archives strive to make our collection materials accessible to all as unaltered historical record. Some of our collection materials may include images or words that are offensive. We do not support or condone these harmful ideas, and we embrace a culture that prioritizes diversity and inclusion. We make these items available because they are critically important resources for education and research, while acknowledging their impact on various peoples and groups.
Our goal is to provide original descriptions of the material for the purposes of transparency and research; however, some materials may contain offensive language, negative stereotypes, and/or depictions of violence. Viewer discretion is advised.
We in Special Collections and Archives aim to describe these materials in a manner that is respectful to both the creators and those viewing the material today. Cultural competency is critically important: what constitutes appropriate description varies with context over time and is affected by the descriptive standards in which we apply. We encourage users to provide all feedback to help us continue to improve our archival description practices. Please contact us with any questions or concerns.
