This collection contains books, exhibition catalogs, articles, special letters, media, and other items covering the work of Marc Chagall. This collection represents over forty years of Mrs. Jacobson’s work as a founding member of the American Friends of Chagall’s Biblical Message Museum, chairperson for the fundraising committee to present a Chagall tapestry to the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago, and international Chagall lecturer. Mrs. Jacobson is also the author of Sharing Chagall: A Memoir.

Marc Chagall artwork, Stained Glass artwork

The finding aid for the entire archival collection is available online:

Vivian R. and Ralph Jacobson Marc Chagall Research Collection

Chagall Collections

Vivian R. Jacobson has been a lecturer on Marc Chagall since 1978 and has presented in twenty-two states, Europe, and Israel. She is highly praised as an outstanding lecturer, author, and historian on the artist. She was President of the American Friends of the Chagall Biblical Museum, Nice, France from 1978 – 1982 and Chairman of the Chagall Tapestry Project, Chicago, Illinois from 1982 – 1986. She has been an honored lecturer on Chagall for the North Carolina Humanities Council. Jacobson was privileged to work with Chagall the last eleven years of his life. In August of 2020 she donated her entire collection of Chagall books, exhibition catalogues, articles, photos, etc. to the University of North Carolina at Pembroke. Her collection is known as the Jacobson Chagall Art Research Collection and is now available worldwide for scholars and students. Vivian Jacobson will personally sign her book SHARING CHAGALL: A MEMOIR at the end of the lecture.

http://vivianjacobson.squarespace.com/

The Vivian R. and Ralph Jacobson Marc Chagall Collection contains a number of Chagall-related monographs, by and about the artist Marc Chagall. The majority of these materials are housed in Special Collections and are in-library use only. There are some materials that are part of the library's General Collection and are available for checkout.

Click the image below to access the library Vivian R. and Ralph Jacobson Marc Chagall Research Collection:

The Vivian R. and Ralph Jacobson Marc Chagall Collection contains a number of Chagall-related articles about the artist Marc Chagall. Part of the collection includes four scrapbooks that have letters, article clippings, and other ephemera. A number of these articles are available through the library's subscription databases and are linked below, those that are not available through UNCP are available via interlibrary loan.

The process begins by creating an interlibrary loan account. This account is separate from your BraveWeb account and your library account. Select Interlibrary Loan here or in the Services dropdown menu at the top of the page. You can find instructions on that page about getting started. Once you have created your account, you can just log in to the system.

Follow the system prompts to request your materials, most articles are delivered electronically in PDF format to your interlibrary loan account.

For more information about interlibrary loan visit: https://libguides.uncp.edu/interlibraryloan

Research Articles Available at UNCP
Click on the link to view a list of research articles available via UNCP's Mary Livermore Library or in the public domain
Articles Available via Interlibrary Loan
Click on the link to view a list of research articles available via Interlibrary Loan

Click the link below to watch: Шагал - Малевич (Chagall - Malevich)

YouTube video: https://tinyurl.com/ypnzttcc

Chagall: World in Revolt
From SCHIRN KUNSTHALLE FRANKFURT
Shared via YouTube Channel

"He is considered one of the most important modern artists: Marc Chagall. His works: colourful, dreamy, fantastic. But in the period between 1930 and the 1940s his paintings darkened. They are a mirror of current affairs. A man, Russian, Jew, artist expelled, uprooted, torn apart. Searching for himself. So who was Marc Chagall?"

Historical Documentation:

The Magician.
This little Yiddish book, with its illustrations by Marc Chagall, is the product of several converging trends in East European Jewry during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. It was written by Y. L. Peretz (1852--1915), a towering figure of the Jewish Enlightenment revered for his stories, plays, and poems in both Hebrew and Yiddish. Like many of Peretz's works, Der Kuntsenmakher (variously translated as The Magician or The Trickster) draws its inspiration from the folktales of Hassidic Jewry, in this case the legends surrounding the wonder-working figure of Elijah the Prophet, who, disguised and unknown, visits an impoverished God-fearing couple on Passover Eve to transform their poverty into wealth. The story was first published several years before this edition, which is noteworthy for its black and white illustrations by Chagall, who at the time of publication was already a renowned artist with a unique relationship to the Jewish cultural milieu and its symbols. In a letter of 1923 Chagall recorded the circumstances surrounding his drawings for this book: "I didn't even know Peretz personally. Only when a publisher (I don't remember which) asked me to do drawings for one of Peretz's tales, 'The Magician,' did I start reading. I was surprised . . . the poor and splendid Jewish images and figures float up from the little white pages. . . . And really, from childhood on, haven't they dangled anxiously inside us--those tunes, Sabbath days, Friday evenings, velvet caps, your first loves, landscapes breathing with psalms, the last tones of the weary cantor, and Jews, Jews on the earth and in the sky."

Chagall, M. & Peretz, I. L. (1917) The Magician. Vilnius: Vilner ferlag fun B.A. Kletskin. [Pdf] Retrieved from the Library of Congress, https://www.loc.gov/item/2021666641/.

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text journals and magazines, plus detailed indexing and abstracts, and more than 63,000 images. Useful for artists, art scholars and designers, it covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
Art Collection (Full Text and Retrospective) This link opens in a new window
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) - Provides full-text coverage dating back to 1977. Includes indexed, abstracted, peer-reviewed journals, art dissertations and indexed art reproductions. Subjects: artists, artist materials and methods, artist interviews and profiles and a database-specific thesaurus.

Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 - An archive index chronicling over a half a century of art literature. Covering fine, decorative and commercial art, it indexes hundreds of publications, plus thousands of book reviews, interviews, anthologies and more.
Grove Dictionary of Art Online. This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Provides constant additions of new material and updates to the original text, as well as extensive image links and sophisticated search advantages.

Usage Notes: Please logout of this resource when you're finished
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized back issues of academic journals, books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals in the humanities and social sciences, many dating from the 19th century. Includes Teacher Resources.

Now Includes: All ARTstor content is now searchable through JSTOR.
Smithsonian Archives of American Art This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America. Holdings include more than 20 million letters, diaries and scrapbooks of artists, dealers, and collectors; manuscripts of critics and scholars; business and financial records of museums, galleries, schools, and associations; photographs of art world figures and events; sketches and sketchbooks; rare printed material; film, audio and video recordings; and the largest collection of oral histories anywhere on the subject of art.

Related Collections:

Ackland Art Museum

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

John Ulric Nef, Jr. Papers 1840-2008

The University of Chicago

Find More Resources on Primo:

Find even more resources for Marc Chagall in the library's Primo database for books,

articles, films, and more: https://tinyurl.com/3xcjer2m.

Special Collections & Archives

About Marc Chagall

Chagall Book Collection

Chagall Collections

Click the link below to watch: Шагал - Малевич (Chagall - Malevich)