ATTENTION: Mary Livermore Library's Special Collections and Archives is currently undergoing renovations.
As such, we are unable to accept new donations at this time.
Mary Livermore Library’s Special Collections and University Archives consist of rare and historic materials, as well as ongoing activities at the University. The collections cover a wide range of subject areas, including UNCP events and history, faculty scholarship, Lumbee history, and local history. The collections include The Elmer W. Hunt Photograph Collection, the first college catalogs, UNCP yearbooks, and bibliographies of campus scholarship.
Special Collections and University Archives is open Monday-Friday from 9-4 p.m. or by appointment. If you need materials pulled for research from the collections, an appointment is recommended.
Mary Livermore Library is excited to announce 70+ issues of The Lumbee Newspaper from 1965-69 in our Special Collections. The Lumbee Newspaper was created and first published in October of 1965 by Paul Dickson and Lucy Gray Peebles. Printed in Pembroke, North Carolina, the paper served the greater Robeson County community. Access to materials are available upon request via Special Collections appointment. Click the slide to schedule today!
The Al Kahn Robeson County Bicentennial Collection shares dozens of short stories about the unique and powerful history of Robeson County, North Carolina.
Available via Livermore Library's Digital Collections
Inspired to Heal: Sharing Chagall
by Christine Hall, Sandhills Magazine
This article explores the impact of Marc Chagall's artwork and Vivian R, and Ralph Jacobson who have dedicated their "rare and historic collection of memoirs and correspondence retained through her and the artist's friendship" (Hall).
Hall, Christine. “Inspired to Heal: Sharing Chagall.” Jacobson Chagall Art Research Collection | Sandhills Magazine, Sandhills Magazine, 3 June 2022, https://sandhillsmag.com/inspired-to-heal-sharing-chagall.
The Constitution of the Lumbee Tribe of Cheraw Indians
Available via Livermore Library's Digital Collections
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke’s Livermore Library Special Collections and Archives strive to make our collection materials accessible to all as unaltered historical record. Some of our collection materials may include images or words that are offensive. We do not support or condone these harmful ideas, and we embrace a culture that prioritizes diversity and inclusion. We make these items available because they are critically important resources for education and research, while acknowledging their impact on various peoples and groups.
Our goal is to provide original descriptions of the material for the purposes of transparency and research; however, some materials may contain offensive language, negative stereotypes, and/or depictions of violence. Viewer discretion is advised.
We in Special Collections and Archives aim to describe these materials in a manner that is respectful to both the creators and those viewing the material today. Cultural competency is critically important: what constitutes appropriate description varies with context over time and is affected by the descriptive standards in which we apply. We encourage users to provide all feedback to help us continue to improve our archival description practices. Please contact us with any questions or concerns.
