Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections serves the research needs of UNCP students and faculty, as well as the wider community, by acquiring, preserving and providing access to books and archival materials that describe the history and culture of the University, the Lumbee Tribe, Southeastern American Indians, and Robeson County history. 

Finding aids are available online for searching the collection, which contains materials not included in the library’s general online catalog. A finding aid is a description of an archival collection, usually containing a history of the person or organization that produced the collection and an inventory of its contents.

The University of North Carolina at Pembroke’s Livermore Library Special Collections and Archives strive to make our collection materials accessible to all as an unaltered historical record. Some of our collection materials may include images or words that are offensive. We do not support or condone these harmful ideas, and we embrace a culture that prioritizes diversity and inclusion. We make these items available because they are critically important resources for education and research while acknowledging their impact on various peoples and groups.

Our goal is to provide original descriptions of the material for the purposes of transparency and research; however, some materials may contain offensive language, negative stereotypes, and/or depictions of violence. Viewer discretion is advised.

Special Collections and Archives aim to describe these materials in a manner that is respectful to both the creators and those viewing the material today. Cultural competency is critically important. What constitutes appropriate description varies with context over time and is affected by the descriptive standards in which we apply. We encourage users to provide all feedback to help us continue to improve our archival description practices. Please contact us with any questions or concerns.