LibGuides: Education: Web Resources

Online Information

Kathy Schrock has been a school district Director of Technology, an instructional technology specialist, a middle school, academic, museum, and a public library librarian. She is currently an online adjunct graduate-level professor at two universities and an independent educational technologist.

Teaching Techniques for Higher Education: Whether you find yourself teaching online, on-site, or a hybrid of both, our free teaching techniques are focused on helping your students learn and retain new knowledge and skills.

"MERLOT is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education. Links to online learning materials are collected here along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments."

Provides "data from several NCES sources including: The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, Indicators of School Crime and Safety, and Projections of Education Statistics."

SERVE is an education organization with the mission to promote and support the continuous improvement of educational opportunities for all learners in the Southeast. Program areas include: Assessment, Accountability, and Standards; Children, Families, and Communities; Education Policy; Improvement of Mathematics and Science Education; Education Leadership; School Development and Reform; and Technology in Learning.

Discover and discuss the most effective techniques for using Library of Congress primary sources in the classroom. Teaching strategies, outstanding primary sources, lesson plans, teacher resources, and current thinking on effective classroom practice are all open for discussion.

Ways instructors can make classrooms more affirming and inclusive for students of different genders.

Provides information surrounding all aspects of education, including statistical data, current policies, the No Child Left Behind Act, news items, federal programs, and grants information.

"NC WISE OWL is a Web site that has, as its centerpiece, several subscription databases. InfoTrac, a periodical database product by the Gale Group, is made up of a Kids Edition for elementary students, a Junior Edition for middle schoolers, and both the Student Edition and InfoTrac Gold Reference Edition for the high school and parent community. The Junior Reference Center offers a simplified format for greater ease of use. Custom Newspapers includes articles from several North Carolina newspapers, as well as content from national and international newspapers. Also included in the Gale databases is the Scribner Writers Series, with information on more than 1600 authors. Grolier Online offers two encyclopedias: The New Book of Knowledge for elementary and middle school students, and Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia for middle and high school students."

This is the official site for the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Provides links to various resources, including curriculum, employment and licensure, reports and statistics, publication sales, education initiatives, events and conferences, agency websites, education directory, and NC schools listing.

Serves as a curriculum terminal from which you can travel to specific goals and objectives based on discipline and grade level. This service provides a convenient way for teachers, administrators, and parents to verify the instructional objectives of the Standard Course of Study at a given grade and subject area.

This is the only national professional membership focused on school librarians and the school library community.

This organization is led by teachers who strive to identify issues in the public education system, and addressing the issues.

This organization focuses on technology within the elementary education field and providing information on current technology along with assistance with teaching educators about said technology.

This organization focuses on educating gifted children and provide information and events that can assist teachers in learning how to better provide for these students.

This is America’s largest professional organization and it focuses on enhancing the public education system.