Skip to Main Content

Education

Children's and Young Adult Literature

The UNCP Children's and Young Adult Literature Collection is located in the Teacher Resource Library, School of Education, Room 137. This collection contains high-quality fiction and non-fiction for young children through Grade 12. If you don't see what you need, please contact us. We will be happy to assist you.

Books

Useful Resources

Did you know?

Many major awards for children's and young adult literature are presented by divisions of the American Library Association.  The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announces the following each year in January:

(John) Newbery Medal 

  • The Newbery Medal honors the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

(Randolph) Caldecott Medal 

  • The Caldecott Medal honors the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

(Mildred L.) Batchelder Award 

  • The Batchelder Award is given to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

(Pura) Belpré Medal 

  • The Belpré Medal honors a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose works best portray, affirm, and celebrate the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

(Theodor Seuss) Geisel Medal 

  • The Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished contribution to the body of American children’s literature known as beginning reader books published in the United States during the preceding year.

(Robert F.) Sibert Informational Book Medal 

  • The Sibert Medal honors the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published during the preceding year.

The Children's Literature Legacy Award

  • The award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a significant and lasting contribution to children's literature through books that demonstrate integrity and respect for all children's lives and experiences.

North Carolina Children's Book Award

AUTHOR/ILLUSTRATOR AWARDS

CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARDS
CONTENT AREA
MULTICULTURAL/DIVERSITY

YOUNG ADULT BOOK AWARDS 

VIDEO/AUDIO/MEDIA AWARDS

Some of the best resources to begin gathering ideas on your topic include reference books which can be found on the first floor of the library or by filtering the A-Z Database List for Reference Resources. You can search the stacks using our suggested call numbers ranges located on the left of this page, or search our library catalog from the Homepage or the Education Books and eBooks tab.

Some titles to get you started:

  • The Everyday Lives of Young Children : Culture, Class, and Child Rearing in Diverse Societies 
  • Artsy Toddler Storytimes: A year's worth of ready-to-go programming 
  • Authentic relationships in group care for infants and toddlers - resources for infant educarers (RIE) principles into practice 
  • Creative Resources for Infants & Toddlers 
  • Emergent Literacy : Children's books from 0 to 3 
  • Enabling Environments in the Early Years : Making provision for high quality and challenging learning experiences in early years settings 
  • Let's Play and Learn Together : Fill Your Baby's Day with Creative Activities that are Super Fun and Enhance Development 
  • Research Methods in Child Language 
  • Secret of Toddler Sharing : Why Sharing Is Hard and How to Make It Easier 
  • Toddlers Moving and Learning 
  • The Wiley‐Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Cognitive Development 
  • The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Childhood Social Development 
  • We're Not Robots : The Voices of Daycare Providers 
  • Beginning to Play: Young Children From Birth to Three 
  • The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Infant Development, Applied and Policy Issues 
  • Theories of Infant Development 
  • Social and Cognitive Development in the Context of Individual, Social, and Cultural Processes 
  • The First Three Years and Beyond : Brain Development and Social Policy 
  • Infancy to Early Childhood : Genetic and Environmental Influences on Developmental Change 
  • The Playful Toddler : 130+ Quick Brain-boosting Activities for 18 to 36 Months 
  • Teaching Twos and Threes 
  • Effective Early Education Cross-Cultural Perspectives 

Academic Databases

Fiction and Literature Collections

Lesson Plans

Newsrooms

Official Subject Headings

To effectively search of books in our library catalog, we encourage you to make use of the following official Subject Headings. This may be done in Advanced Search by changing the search field from "Any Field" to "Subject" and entering any of the following Subject Headings to the search bar. 

American Indian

Authors & Illustrators

 Religion Subject Headings Diversity Subject Headings

Bilingual/Spanish 

Subject Headings
Sherman Alexie 
Joseph Bruchac 
Nicola I. Campbell 
Michael Dorris 
Louise Erdrich 
Paul Goble 
Joy Harjo 
S. D. Nelson 
Virginia Driving Hawk Sneve 
Cynthia Leitich Smith 
Tim Tingle 
Native American Authors and Illustrators in Children’s and Young Adult Books 
BLOG: American Indians in Childrens Literature 
American Indian Youth Literature Award 

Religion                        
Islam 
Judaism 
Buddhism 
Christianity 

African Americans 
Hispanic Americans 
Mexican Americans 
Chinese Americans 
Racially Mixed People 
Indians of North America 
Japanese and Japanese American 
Chinese and Chinese American 
Korean and Korean American 
Indonesian 
Mexican and Mexican American 
Hispanic American 

 Spanish Language 
Spanish Language Materials - Bilingual 

Continents & Countries 

Subject Headings

 American Indian Nations & Special Topics Age / Generations Subject Headings Gender Identity & Gender Expression Subject Headings
Africa 
Asia 
Australia 
Europe 
North America 
South America 
Antarctica 		 Apache 
Cherokee 
Cheyenne 
Chippewa 
Choctaw 
Comanche 
Crow 
Eskimo 
Hopi 
Iroquois 
Lumbee 
Mohawk 
Navajo 
Paiute 
Powhatan 
Pueblo 
Seminole 
Sioux 
Tuscarora 
Wampanoag 
Harvest Ceremony: Beyond the Thanksgiving Myth 
American Indian Perspectives on Thanksgiving 
National Museum of the American Indian 		 Grandparents 
Grandfathers 
Grandmothers 
Fathers and sons 
Mothers and daughters 

Homosexuality 
Gays & Lesbians
Gay Parents 
Gay Teenagers 
Gender & Sexuality
Gender Identity
Queer Theory
Individuality
Sexuality
Transgender Persons
Disabilities Arts Science Mathematics
Disabilities 
Deaf 
Autism 
Wheelchair 
Attention disorder 
Hyperactive 
Blind 
Chronically ill 		 Music - Juvenile 
Musicians - Juvenile 
Ellington, Duke - Juvenile 
Jazz Juvenile 
Dance Juvenile 
Ballet Juvenile 
Singers Juvenile 
Artists Juvenile 
Weaving - Juvenile 
Potters Juvenile 
Painters Juvenile 
Entertainers - Juvenile 
Poets - Juvenile 
Authors Juvenile 		 Biology 
Chemistry 
Electricity 
Plants 
Water 
Food Chains 
Habitats 
Science Fair Projects 
Engineering 		 Counting 
Fractions 
Geometry 
Graphs 
Money 
Shapes 
Measurement 
Addition 
Division 
Mathematics
Social Studies Language Arts Teaching Library Catalog Searching
United States History Revolution 1775 1783 
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 
World War, 1914-1918 -- United States 
World War, 1939-1945 -- United States 
Underground Railroad 
Thailand 
Maps 
Presidents United States 
Explorers 		 Poetry - Juvenile 
Poets 
Authors 
Vocabulary 
Alphabet 
Writing 
Books and Reading 
Libraries

Parent-Teacher Relationships 
Home and School 
Education - Parent Participation 
African Americans Education 
Hispanic Americans - Education 
Indians of North America Education 
Asian Americans Education 
Immigrants Education 

Multicultural Education - Cross Cultural Studies 
Multicultural Education - Handbooks and Manuals 
Multicultural Education - North America 
Multicultural Education - United States 

 Music Education (K12) 
Art Education 
Social Studies Education 
History Education 
Science Education 
Language Arts 

 

The following is a list of websites on and about Children's and YA Literature. While some of the information from these websites is considered legitimate for academic purposes, the content should be thoroughly evaluated by the reader to detect inaccuracies, irrelevance, currency, and bias.