LibGuides: Education: Databases

Databases

Education Database This link opens in a new window
Journal database covering the study of education across all levels (early childhood through higher education). Provided by NC LIVE.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text education journals, books, videos and education-related conference papers.

Subjects: The study and application of education across all levels of education, including early childhood education, primary and secondary education, subject education, assessment, higher education, and more.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.

Education Week This link opens in a new window
This is a newsroom dedicated to covering non-partisan, high-quality news, and insights covering the K-12 education sector. The Education Week newsroom covers stories across the entire education sphere, with content that helps district and school leaders and is cited regularly in state and federal policymaking, including Supreme Court decisions.

Usage Notes: Even though you have unrestricted access via UNCP, you should still create an individual account so you can save articles, searches, topics, and more, as well as sign up for newsletters. These benefits will help you get the most out of Education Week.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
This is a newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities, with real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
North Carolina General Statues This link opens in a new window
This is the public repository for all NC General Statues, including education law.

Usage Notes: This Tutorial Video provides information about searching the General Statues for Education topics. If you have questions, please contact the library (ref.desk@uncp.edu).

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Collections of media content for schools and libraries of all kinds. Provided by NC LIVE.
Explora Educator's Edition This link opens in a new window
Includes multidisciplinary content relevant to teachers, including lessons plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources. Can include peer-reveiwed journals.
Explora Primary Schools This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary search designed for primary school students. Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary search designed for secondary schools. supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
This database features authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on the most enduring, significant, and timely issues. This rich online resource helps users investigate controversial topics by framing thoughtful questions, revealing the background story behind the issues and providing scholars' perspectives and analyses, allowing students to formulate educated opinions on hotly debated "gray area" subjects.
MERLOT This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to a growing collection of online learning materials, peer reviews, and assignments to help faculty enhance instruction.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Source covers hundreds of topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).

Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues, and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
Articles, nonfiction books, activities, and websites intended for elementary and middle school students. Provided by NC LIVE.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find pro/ con essays about social issues and newspaper articles. Provided by NC LIVE.