"Only librarians like to search, Everyone else likes to find."
Search Terms: How can you search databases more effectively?
Remember, library search portals don't use the same algorithms as Google, so you shouldn't expect to be able to use the same search methods to find information. Here are some methods that you can and SHOULD use to be able to search for information effectively through the library portal.
Controlled Vocabulary: Subject Headings
Controlled vocabulary are terms used by experts to allow easy access to information.
Most searches for information use a keywords. Search engines look for these words in titles, authors, descriptions, abstracts, subject headings, and other places. Because of this, your search will return a large number of results. Subject headings and thesaurus terms, however, have a tighter focus and are selected by experts in an area. Searching subject terms will return fewer results because of where the information is being searched. Subject and thesaurus terms are "controlled vocabulary" because they are are selected by experts.
Looking at subject and thesaurus terms can focus a search. Most electronic resources (databases) have a thesaurus where terms can be looked up and later searched. Included in this listing typically are broader terms and narrow terms. Older forms which are no longer used may also be listed.
Refine your search
AND
Use AND to narrow a search and retrieve records containing all of the words it separates, e.g. adolescents AND children will only find records containing both these words.
OR
Use OR to broaden a search and retrieve records containing any of the words it separates, e.g.adolescents OR children will find records containing adolescents only, children only, or both words.
NOT
Use NOT to narrow a search and retrieve records that do not contain the term following it, e.g. adolescents NOT children will find records that contain adolescents, but will not contain the word children.
Selecting Keywords
In order to select useful keywords, you will need to have a specific topic in mind. While it is ok to change your topic during the research process, if your topic is too broad, selecting keywords will not be possible / will not help the research process. It may help to write your topic as a question.
Once you know what information you need for your project/paper, you can find the parts of your question that will be most useful in a search (avoid abstract ideas like “compare” “implication” or “relationship” and bias words like “best” “most” or “disadvantage”)
Look for synonyms, antonyms, or abbreviations common in your topic.
| Example Question: What contributions did women make to the early space program in the USA? |
|||
|---|---|---|---|
| Women | Early | Space Program | USA |
|
woman female gender "diversity in" gender gap |
1950s 1960s 20th century "start of" at initiation |
NASA Apollo lunar program "space race" astronaut |
United States of America America US |
Identify subjects and possible databases that may be helpful.
Also, consider the subject that you are researching. You can sort the A-Z Database list by Subject. Is there a subject listing for your topic?
For example, let's say my topic focuses on areas in education, libraries or publishing; however, there is only a subject listing for education. If I click in the education link, and scroll down, under the "best bets" recommended databases, there is a database "Library and Information Science Collections." However, I also might choose to search by title and simply look under L. This would let me search for any databases that started with the word library. Under L, I can find also find the "Library and Information Science Collections."
Once you know what databases you want to start with, it's time to practice using your search methods.
What happens if you can't find anything you want to use? ..... Try Another Database!!!
Researching doesn't follow a simple line forward or a progression of steps. It isn't enter search terms > find answer. Instead it is more like a conversation. You may start with search terms, but realized they aren't as helpful as you thought, so you change the keywords, or you go to a new location, and new database. Maybe you ask someone for help, or you start looking for a different type of source. Maybe you find one good source and you use that entry to find subject headings, keywords or citations in that article to push your search in a new direction. That is why researching is nonlinear; you may stop, start, recover material, and change the direction of your search often, even just for one topic.
Iterative is a word that means, repeatable or something following a set of rules. Even though the research process doesn't follow a single simple set of steps, there are basic rules that govern the best way to access information.
Some rules that help improve the research process:
