Look for books in these areas!
| Theory and practice of education | LB 5-3640 |
| Special aspects of education | LC 8-6691 |
| Textbooks | LT 6-501 |
| Medical education. Medical schools. Research | R 735-854 |
| Regulation of medical education. Licensure | RA 396 |
| Nursing | RT 1-120 |
This guide was created to assist students conducting research during their nurse educator concentration. Many resources are available by searching the library catalog or filtering the A-Z Database list; however, this guide will offer students resources to enable them to be more selective as they continue through their program.
Physical books can be located in the reference collection on the first floor or within the call number ranges provided here. Our subject guides will also offer assistance in locating books and eBooks. Journals and articles can be located with our recommended databases or by filtering for subject and type on our A-Z Database list, as well as searching Google Scholar. Cochrane Library is one of our new, specialized resources, and there is a section of this page dedicated entirely to it. Lastly, students will find citation and research help for assignments and projects.
|
Begin Your Search Here
|
Some of the best resources to begin gathering ideas on your topic include reference books which can be found on the first floor of the library or by filtering the A-Z Database List for Reference Resources. You can search the stacks using our suggested call numbers ranges located on the left of this page, or search our library catalog above. We also have several resources created to help you locate books and eBooks that you can access below.
Academic articles will not be freely available through a web search. If you find these items doing a web search you will be asked to pay to access them. The library’s web page provides the access point for these academic sources. Primo, the library’s catalog, provides access to articles available in the library; however, the cornerstone of most academic research is peer reviewed (scholarly) journal articles and these may be found more readily through subject specific databases. The databases in the A-Z Database list are listed by title and can be filtered by subject, type, and vender.
The following is a list of other databases that may be consulted for finding journal articles on Nursing topics. Some databases are specific to disciplines other than nursing, and some are general in nature, meaning they index articles across many subjects and disciplines.
The following is a list of websites on Nursing Informatics. While some of the information from these websites is considered legitimate for academic purposes, the content should be thoroughly evaluated by the reader to detect inaccuracies, irrelevance, currency, and bias.
American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)
Google Scholar can be searched to finding scholarly article citations through Google. Use keywords as you would in any other article database. When available, article citations can be linked to the full-text record in the library's collections as long as the user is on campus.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Searching in the Cochrane Library can be more complicated that basic Ebsco or ProQuest searches. In addition to a basic search bar, researchers have the option to browse by topic or use the advanced search as well as isolate Medical terms (MeSH), and PICO search. Cochrane Library also offers a Search manager that can add unlimited search lines, view results per line, include MeSH terms, and select fields.
Cochrane Databases:
These are links to a few sites that will help you format citations for the APA style. Most of the electronic resources you use will have an easy link to show you what the citation will look like in an APA format. But always remember, the instructor is the last word on the correct format for the citation.
Additional Resources
Purdue Online Writing Lab:
The Mary Livermore Library offers many services and resources to assist the students of UNCP. We hope you use this guide to familiarize yourself with the research process and how the library can support you as you are looking for information without our resources. This guide will:
