LibGuides: Nursing: Databases

Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full Text database of nursing and allied health journals with additional indexed materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules. NOW INCLUDES: PICO Search.

Subjects: More than 300 new subject headings have been added to CINAHL to help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as new local terminology such as Aboriginal Canadians, First Nations of Canada, First Nations of Australia, and Torres Strait Islanders.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Content includes Systematic Reviews, Controlled Trials (bibliographic and abstracted material only) and Clinical Answers, a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research.
Frontiers This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed article collections around themes of cutting-edge research. Includes journals, articles, research topics and blog entries.

Subjects: Science, Health, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Young Minds, and Sustainability
Health and Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles. Provided by NC LIVE.
HealthSource Nursing and Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics. Includes access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.

Subjects: pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
JAMA : The Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new window
JAMA, published continuously since 1883, is an international peer-reviewed general medical journal and the most widely circulated general medical journal in the world.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine. Provided by NC LIVE.

SAGE Video This link opens in a new window
Sage Video brings teaching, learning, and research to life through editorially curated collections across the social, behavioral, and health sciences. They are designed to support the instructor, student, and academic researcher through a combination of originally commissioned and produced material with licensed and co-produced content. Includes Teacher Resources.
Behavioral and Mental Health Online This link opens in a new window
This is a video resource that includes more than 2,400 hours of video footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals as well as other counseling, nursing and social work materials. This research can be searched by Therapeutic Approach, Presenting Conditions, or Content Types. Includes Teacher Resources
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online hosts a variety of video resources such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc, and covers a wide range of subjects, including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
This is a 5 volume Video Library that offers a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. It contains more than 2,400 hours of video footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals.