Skip to Main Content

Kinesiology / Health and Physical Education

Online Information

ATPBRN: Athletic Training Practice Based Research Network 

  • The Athletic-Training Practice-Based Research Network (AT-PBRN) is an affiliate network of the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ) and is the first and only practice-based research network in athletic training. The mission of the AT-PBRN is to improve the quality of care and patient outcomes for patients under the care of athletic trainers.

Centre for Evidence Based Medicine 

  • The Centre for Evidence-based Medicine was established in Oxford as the first of several UK centres with the aim of promoting evidence-based health care. The CEBM provides free support and resources to doctors, clinicians, teachers and others interested in learning more about EBM. Our work falls into three categories: Research & development on the barriers to and improvement of the clinical practice of evidence; training of students and clinicians in the principles and practice of evidence-based medicine; yraining the trainers in how to teach EBM and how to do research and development in EBM

Datalys Center 

  • The Datalys Center team includes experts and scientists whose careers have focused on making sports safer through the prevention of injuries. The prevention of injuries begins with understanding the problem through ongoing and consistent injury documentation. The Datalys Center is committed to providing organizations and policy makers with unbiased data and interpretation that can be used to make data driven policy decisions.

HealthFinder 

  • Federal Web site for consumers, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services together with other Federal agencies. Healthfinder has been recognized as a key resource for finding the best government and nonprofit health and human services information on the Internet. Healthfinder links to carefully selected information and Web sites from over 1,500 health-related organizations

Human Anatomy Online 

  • These interactive websites provides photographic images for the study of human anatomy and also includes animations, graphics, and descriptive links for a number of anatomical topics.

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy

  • An online comprehensive medical resource of reference material for medical professionals and students.

National Recreation and Park Association (NRPA)

  • "The National Recreation and Park Association (NRPA) is the leading not-for-profit organization dedicated to building strong, healthy and resilient communities through the power of parks and recreation."

National Athletic Trainers Association 

  • The National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) is the professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession. Founded in 1950, the NATA has grown to more than 30,000 members worldwide today. The majority of certified athletic trainers choose to be members of the NATA – to support their profession, and to receive a broad array of membership benefits

PE Central 

  • Welcome to the premier Web site for health and physical education teachers, parents, and students. Our goal is to provide the latest information about developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children and youth. To combat the high obesity rate, we offer programs like Log It and Get Active Stay Active where students can log their physical activity and pedometer steps.

PEDro-- Physiotherapy Evidence Database 

  • PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 26,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health

PeerJ 

  • Kinesiology articles hosted in an Open Access database

Recreation.gov 

  • Contains "information about several thousand publicly-managed recreation sites....Most of these sites are managed by Federal agencies (National Park Service, US Army Corps of Engineers, US Forest Service)." Information about each site includes contact and weather information, directions, links, and available recreational activities. The website can be accessed by keyword, by state, activity (such as biking, camping, fishing, or hunting), or name of recreational site.

Women’s Health 

  • A a service of the Office on Women's Health (OWH) in the US Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).The OWH was established in 1991 within the US Department of Health and Human Services. OWH coordinates the efforts of all the HHS agencies and office involved in women's health.

Public Health Career Guide

  • "This guide will share insight on which degree is suitable for your ideal career in public health, salary outlook, top employers in public health, and how to succeed in the career path of public health."

Sports Management Degree Guide

  • What Jobs Are Available in Kinesiology?

American College of Sports Medicine 

  • With more than 50,000 members and certified professionals, the American College of Sports Medicine is the global authority for sports medicine and exercise science.

American Council on Exercise (ACE) 

  • This organization focuses on developing and distributing credible resources, training and education, preparing students for certification, and providing workout ideas and schedules.

American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) 

  • Information about physical therapy, careers, and more.

IDEA Health and Fitness Association 

  • This organization focuses on improving the health and fitness of all people.

National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA) 

  • This organization is a professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession.

National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) 

  • This organization focuses on providing a pathway to opportunity for college athletes.

National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) 

  • This organization develops and presents the most advanced information regarding strength training and conditioning practices, injury prevention, and research findings.

North Carolina Athletic Trainers Association 

  • Since 1974, the NCATA has served to support athletic trainers, to promote and advance the profession of athletic training in North Carolina. The NCATA is a member of the Mid-Atlantic Athletic Trainers Association (District 3) and the National Athletic Trainers’ Association.

SHAPE America (Society of Health and Physical Educators) 

  • SHAPE America – Society of Health and Physical Educators is the nation’s largest membership organization of health and physical education professionals. Since being founded in 1885, the organization has defined excellence in physical education, and our National Standards for K-12 Physical Education serve as the foundation for well-designed physical education programs across the country.