Skip to Main Content

Faculty Services

Reading List Tutorials

This short video is an introduction to Reading List in Canvas for faculty and instructors. You will learn to enable Reading List, create a new list, add material to your course reserves, add notes and due dates, publish your list and link it in your modules. If you want to select course reserves for any class that you are teaching, it is easy to make a list supported by the library through your Canvas shell. 

This short video offers are demonstration of more features offered by Reading List in Canvas for faculty and instructors. You will be able to view upcoming due dates, connect your account to your Refworks or Zotero and import directly from these tools, use the Cite It! button to autogenerate citations from the web, populate your Collections, and see the List Analysis feature.

"A walk-through the Leganto course resource list solution - from the perspective of a faculty member, student, and the library."

~ Created by ExLibrisLtd

Reading List Course Reserves

Reserve Requests

Faculty and instructors have three options to place course materials on reserve.

  1. Create a course Reading List online.

    • Accessible to you and your students through Canvas

    • Accessible to you and your students through Primo > Course Reserves

  2. Email a list of library materials you wish to be placed on reserve to circ@uncp.edu with the following information:

    • Course name & number.

    • Electronic files may be emailed as attachments.

    • Full citations should accompany all article and chapter submissions.

    • For physical items, please indicate the preferred loan period: 1, 2,or 3 hours, 1, 3, or 7 days.

  3. Bring your personal copies of reserve material to the Patron Services Desk in Mary Livermore Library

 

PLEASE NOTE: A new request must be submitted for each semester the materials are needed. Course reserves must comply with U.S. Copyright and requests may be denied if a violation of copyright is discovered.

Incomplete course or citation information may cause delays in processing your request. 

All physical reserve materials are processed with various stickers, and a barcode in order to track their use. The library cannot be responsible for the replacement cost of damaged, lost or stolen materials.

Processing Time

Course Reserve requests are processed on a first come, first served basis. You will receive an email notification when your request has been processed. You will also be notified at that time if any materials submitted were ineligible for reserves or if posting is delayed due to copyright clearance.

Wait until you receive confirmation that your requests have been processed to announce that reserves material is available to students.

Material Restrictions

These materials may include reference books, circulating books, journal articles, media, realia, and personal copies of such materials. Reserve materials may be electronic or physical items. Faculty should submit reserve requests through Reading List (Leganto) on Canvas as soon as possible, to allow time for processing by Course Reserves staff; items will be processed in the order in which they are received. Faculty may place personal copies of textbooks on reserve; however, the library does not collect and circulate course textbooks. 

Copyright Guidelines

For items for which copyright law applies, the library will apply a Fair Use Test to each item submitted for reserves.  If fair use does not apply, library staff will attempt to secure permission to use the material and inform the faculty member of the necessary copyright royalty fees which would need to be covered by the faculty’s department. Should permission be denied or the department not wish to cover the fee, library staff or the Patron Services Librarian will contact the faculty member to arrange for an alternative. 

 

Create a list in Canvas

  1. To create a reading list in Canvas, first enable Reading List in the Canvas Setting's Navigation Tab inside of your course shell. 
  2. Once you are in Reading List, navigate to Lists using the main navigation button in the top left. Navigation Button
  3. Click the + NEW LIST button in the top-right corner.
  4. Follow the prompts on screen in order to complete the tasks below:
    • Add a title and description for the new list
    • Select a template for the structure of the list - all areas of the template can be edited later
    • Associate the list with a course

Create a list in Primo

  1. Select Course Reserves from the top navigation bar in the Primo Search Portal. 
  2. Once you are in Reading List, navigate to Lists using the main navigation button in the top left. Navigation Button
  3. Click the + NEW LIST button in the top-right corner.
  4. Follow the prompts on screen in order to complete the tasks below:
    • Add a title and description for the new list
    • Select a template for the structure of the list - all areas of the template can be edited later
    • Associate the list with a course

Add Citations

Adding citations / adding items will put material onto your course reserve Reading List.

Click Add Items + in the top right to search for citation information.

Add Items + Menu in Reading List

  • Selecting Library Search will allow you to pull items directly from the Library Catalog.
  • Selecting Blank Form will allow you to physically input citation information.
  • Selecting Collection will allow you to add items saved in your collection.  
  • Selecting Upload a File will allow you to attach a document from your device.
  • *Selecting Refworks will allow you to import items from your UNCP RefWorks Account.
    • *RefWorks is an option only after integration in Reading List user setting. 

Once you select items, you can ADD them to the Reading List or ADD & EDIT to include student notes and due dates for the item. 

Add Citations using Cite It!

Cite It! is a browser extension that gives you a simple way to list a web page on your course reading list.

To install this tool, click on your initials in the top-right corner of the Reading List screen and select Cite It! in the drop-down menu.

Cite It! buttong on the drop down menu and a screenshot of the popup window with installation instructions. Drag and Drop the button to you favorites bar.

 

Locate material online. When your browser is open to the page you want to include, click the Cite It! button on your bookmarks bar to open the Add this to my list box.

Review the item information for accuracy and add any key missing information - to edit a field, click into it and type in the correct information. 

  • Select a list and section from the drop-down menu and click Add & Close to import the item details to your list. You can also add items to My Collection from here.

Sending a List to the Library / Publishing to Students

Once you have completed your list, all item requests must be processed to ensure they are made available to the students enrolled in the assigned class. This is to confirm if the requested items have to be physically put on Course Reserves, need a book chapter digitized, or copyright needs to be verified.

  1. Click Library Review when you have have finished adding reading materials to your list.
  2.  When the library completes processing the list requests, the library will change the publication status to allow course students to access.
  3. You will receive an email confirming that your list has been completed. 

Embedding your list in Canvas

Embed a section from your reading list in a module:

  • Click the module plus + button
  • Select External Tool
  • Scroll down to Reading List Link Selection and click on the search icon.

Embed an External Tool Reading List Link Selection into Canvas

  • Choose a section or item to link.
  • Click Select & Add Item

This link will display as an embedded section / item from your Reading List inside the module.

Making a Copy of a List

  1. Once you are in Reading List, navigate to Lists using the main navigation button in the top left. 
  2. Find the List you want to copy.
  3. Click on the ellipsis and select Duplicate list.
  4. The duplicated list will have all all the same info as the original list, except it will include a “(1)” after the list title. To update, click on the new list’s title to open up the list. 

What is Reading List?

Reading List is a tool in Canvas that seamlessly integrates library materials and other resources into your classes. You can search the library's discovery tool, Primo, for items, create your own citations with full-text uploads, import .ris files from citation management resources, link to outside online resources, or use the Cite It! tool to add citation info from the web.

Why use Reading List?

  1. Affordability! Reading List reduces the cost of course materials for students by maximizing the use of library-owned and open access resources.
  2. Student engagement! Reading List provides a central location for students to view their required (or supplemental) readings for your course. And just like Files in Canvas, materials from Reading Lists can be placed in specific modules of your Canvas course. You can also track student usage of specific course materials.
  3. Saves time! All of your course readings can be listed in one place for easy access. You can also rollover lists from previous classes and save items to Collections in Reading List. 

How do I access Reading List?

Reading List is automatically loaded into every Canvas course at UNCP. Just click on the Reading List tab in the left-hand navigation bar of your course to begin building a reading list! You made need to enable this tool in your Settings > Navigation tab. 

How do I use Reading List?

An introductory video has been created to get you started. Or you can contact the library at ref.desk@uncp.edu. 

Can I request Textbooks through Reading List?

Mary Livermore Library does not purchase textbooks for courses. For textbook adoptions, please contact the UNCP Bookstore.

What is the Cite It! tool?

The Cite It! bookmark widget enables you to collect resources such as websites, videos, journal articles, etc., and import the bibliographic info and links into your Reading List or Collection. Follow the steps below to install the Cite It! widget.

Step 1 - To install the bookmark, click on your name on the top right of the screen and select Cite It!

Step 2 - In the new window, drag and drop the purple CITE IT! button in to your browser toolbar;

Step 3 - While logged in to Reading List in another window, find a relevant item on your chosen website and click on the Cite it! button in your browser toolbar;

Step 4 - An Add this to my collection popup appears containing the details of the item;

Step 5 - Check the details are correct, then click the ADD & CLOSE button.

The Cite It! tool isn't working. Why?

You need to be logged in to Reading List in Canvas on another tab for the Cite it! widget to work seamlessly and consistently. If you are not logged in, you should receive a log in prompt. You may also need to be searching with Firefox or Chrome.

Copyright

Keep in mind that some items may require a copyright fee to be paid for by your department. The library does not cover any copyright fees.