Mary Livermore Library is a key player in the academic success of UNCP's students and a partner in the historical presentation of the community. We strive to provide the resources and support necessary for everyone to achieve their educational and personal goals. By making a donation, you become a vital partner in this mission. You join a community of individuals who believe in the power of knowledge and the importance of accessible information.
Money raised by will go toward supporting education and engagement.
Mary Livermore Library accepts limited donations of materials that support the current teaching and research of UNCP and align with our Collection Development Policy. Generally, donated resources should be published within the last 20 years and not duplicate content already in the collection. Specific subject needs and guidelines also apply. The library does not accept materials in poor physical condition, outdated textbooks, most popular magazines, and most obsolete formats such as cassettes and VHS tapes. The library reserves the authority to reallocate any donated items deemed unsuitable for addition in the library collection. Items not added to the collection will not be returned to the donor. The library will determine how and where all accepted gift materials will be cataloged and housed for use.
Donors must deliver all donated books and materials to the Mary Livermore Library loading dock entrance by appointment during regular business hours. Small donations (a few items) may be brought to the Patron Services desk. The library cannot provide any pick-up, packing, or shipping support for donations. Questions regarding this policy should be directed to the Technical Services department.
Special Collections collects and preserves rare and unique materials including rare books, oral histories, manuscripts, photography, visual materials, art, and artifacts. Collections are preserved for use by students and faculty/staff of UNCP, members of the community, and by the scholarly community at large.
At the discretion of the department head, Special Collections department may collect materials, in any format, that support our mission. Acquisitions are made through donations, and occasionally through purchases for select books that support the mission statement. Donations to Special Collections are considered on a case-by-case basis. Donations must be accepted by the department, and all donors must complete a Gift Agreement Form.
Examples of types of items collected for Special Collections currently include:
Manuscripts, books, and media created by local members of the community about the community-at-large.
Manuscripts, books, and media that relate to the histories of Pembroke, Robeson County, North Carolina, The Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina, other Southeastern American Indian Tribes, or any other similar topic as seen fit by staff, faculty, students, or other patrons.
Photographs or works of art that reflect the local community, American Indians, or are created by individuals of either.
Ephemera relating to local events or people.
Why contribute to an archive?
One of the most lasting things you can do is contribute your historical materials to a repository such as an archive, special collections library, historical society, or museum. From personal letters to family photographs to business records, your collection adds to a more inclusive historical record.
A repository can provide long-term preservation of your materials, while also allowing current and future researchers such as genealogists, writers, and students to better understand and analyze history. Even more importantly, your collection can enrich your community’s collective memory.
Here are some tips on what to do when considering donating your materials to an archive:
University Archives
The University Archives is the official repository of UNCP publications and records relating to the history of the university. In addition, the University Archives strives to document the full experience of UNCP students, employees, and alumni through collections both official and unofficial. The department is committed to expanding the voices of the historically underrepresented in university history and the University Archives through collection and preservation of personal and organizational material. Typical items kept in University Archives include:
As part of the University of North Carolina System, UNC Pembroke must follow any all guidelines laid forth in the most current edition of the Records Retention and Disposition Schedule for all University Archives materials.
Special Collections
Special Collections collects and preserves rare and unique materials including rare books, oral histories, manuscripts, photography, visual materials, art, and artifacts. Collections are preserved for use by students and faculty/staff of UNCP, members of the community, and by the scholarly community at large.
At the discretion of the department head, the Special Collections department may collect materials, in any format, that support our mission. Acquisitions are made through donations, and occasionally through purchases for select books that support the mission statement. Donations to Special Collections are considered on a case-by-case basis. Donations must be accepted by the department, and all donors must complete a Gift Agreement Form.
Examples of types of items collected for Special Collections currently include:
It may be possible for a donor to take a tax deduction for the donation of a collection to a repository. Speak with your tax accountant or attorney about this possibility. Archivists cannot give tax advice or appraise the monetary value of a collection.
Most archives can only invest materials and labor in the preservation of items that they own, and will not accept items on loan. Donors are asked to sign a deed of gift form, which formally signifies that the materials become the property of the archives.
Access to donated materials is governed by the repository’s policies regarding availability, duplication, and publication. As a prospective donor, you should become familiar with such policies and discuss any special needs or concerns with the archivist or curator before completing the deed of gift. Final description of the collection may not occur immediately and repositories vary in the speed with which description of the collection is posted online.
If you are concerned that material considered confidential or private may be represented in your personal and family records, be prepared to discuss with the archivist the possibility of restricting part of the collection for a period of time.
Assignment of copyright is often complex and you should work with the repository staff to clarify issues of copyright ownership. Generally, copyright belongs to the creator of writings and other original material (such as photos and music) but can be legally transferred to heirs or others.
Preparing materials for use by researchers is the most expensive operation in a repository. Although such monetary donations are rarely a prerequisite for the acceptance of a collection, donors who are able to assist repositories by providing funds toward the arrangement, cataloging, and conservation of their personal or family records are encouraged to discuss the possibility with the archivist.
Credit: This work contains some derivative material sourced from Donating Your Personal or Family Records to a Repository – Society of American Archivists, utilized under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.