Physical books can be located in the reference collection on the first floor or within the call number ranges provided here.
| Education (General) | L 7-991 |
| History of education | LA 5-2396 |
| Theory and practice of education | LB 5-3640 |
| Textbooks | LT 6-501 |
| Music | M1-5000 |
| Literature on music | ML1-3930 |
| Instruction and study | MT1-960 |
Music Library and Livermore Library
| Livermore Library | Music Resource Center | Teacher Resource Library |
|
The main library on campus has resources to meet your assignment needs. Librarians are happy to help you find books, DVDs, articles and more. |
First Floor, Moore Hall
|
Room 137, School of Education
|
All three collections may be searched using the library catalog, Primo.
Search the sheet music collection using Music Librarian.
|
Begin Your Search Here
|
Some of the best resources to begin gathering ideas on your topic include reference books which can be found on the first floor of the library or by filtering the A-Z Database List for Reference Resources. You can search the stacks using our suggested call numbers ranges located on the left of this page, or search our library catalog above. We also have several resources created to help you locate books and eBooks that you can access below.
Official Subject Headings
To effectively search of books in our library catalog, we encourage you to make use of the following official Subject Headings. This may be done in Advanced Search by changing the search field from "Any Field" to "Subject" and entering any of the following Subject Headings to the search bar. Here are a list of formal subject headings related to Music Education used in the library catalog.
Catalog Headings for Instructional Activities
General Headings
Band
Choral
Instruments
Orchestra
Academic articles will not be freely available through a web search. If you find these items doing a web search you will be asked to pay to access them. The library’s web page provides the access point for these academic sources. Primo, the library’s catalog, provides access to articles available in the library; however, the cornerstone of most academic research is peer reviewed (scholarly) journal articles and these may be found more readily through subject specific databases. The databases in the A-Z Database list are listed by title and can be filtered by subject, type, and vender.
Primo, the library’s catalog, also enables access to entire journals, which can then be searched internally. At the top of the Primo homepage, there is the option to search by journal and you can filter by subject or search the journal title direction. Some suggested Journals include:
The following is a list of other databases that may be consulted for finding journal articles on Music Education topics. Some databases are specific to Social Studies Education, and some are general in nature, meaning they index articles across many subjects and disciplines.
The following is a list of useful online resources for Music Education. While much of the information from these websites is considered legitimate for academic purposes, the content should be thoroughly evaluated by the reader to detect inaccuracies, relevancy, currency, and bias.
UNCP Resources: Department of Music
Coordinator: José Rivera
Open Educational Resources
Professional Teacher Organizations
Google Scholar can be searched to finding scholarly article citations through Google. Use keywords as you would in any other article database. When available, article citations can be linked to the full-text record in the library's collections as long as the user is on campus.
While more general recommended books may be found in the rotating gallery at the bottom left of this page, Music & Literacy focuses on a more specialized area of education. Book titles and Subjects headings that may offer a starting place for research in this area can be found below. For additional research assistance, you can locate ways to contact a research librarian for a consultation or to answer a quick question on the homepage, the education subject page or the Need Assistance? page under the "About" drop down menu option in the top right corner.
These are links to a few sites that will help you format citations for the APA style. Most of the electronic resources you use will have an easy link to show you what the citation will look like in an APA format. But always remember, the instructor is the last word on the correct format for the citation.
Additional Resources
Purdue Online Writing Lab:
The Mary Livermore Library offers many services and resources to assist the students of UNCP. We hope you use this guide to familiarize yourself with the research process and how the library can support you as you are looking for information without our resources. This guide will:
