Sociology

Cyborgology : humanity meets technology

• An interesting blog discussing about the benefits and perils of having so much technology in our lives from a sociological viewpoint. Focuses on Web 2.0, the internet and Social Media.

Everyday Sociology Blog

• Welcome to Everydaysociologyblog.com, a site that features interesting, informative, and most of all entertaining commentary from sociologists around the United States.

FASS Research

• Showcasing the Research of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at the National University of Singapore (NUS)

Global Sociology blog

• Conversations between sociology students at the University of California, Berkeley and scholars from around the world. Recorded since 2011 and then made available to a global audience through the International Sociological Association.

The Sociological Eye

• The sociological eye means looking at things for what they are, as best we can given the blinders of interest and ideology, of cliché and ritualized belief. It is not an individual enterprise. Chaining our efforts together as a long-term network of theorists and researchers improves one’s own sociological vision, provided we make the effort. The sociological eye holds up a periscope above the tides of political and intellectual partisanship, spying out the patterns of social life in every direction.

Sociological Images

• "Sociological Images is used as a source by a wide range of news organizations and are routinely cross-posted at high profile news and opinion sites."

This Sociological Life

• A blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton, a longstanding and active member of The Australian Sociological Association (TASA)

American Sociological Association 

• This organization focuses on serving sociologists, advancing the science of profession of sociology and promoting sociology’s contributions to society.

Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology 

• The Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology (AACS) is a resource promoting integrative approaches and systems perspectives for analyzing complex problems and developing creative, practical solutions.

Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action 

• The Association for Research on Nonprofit Organizations and Voluntary Action (ARNOVA) is a diverse community of scholars, educators, and practice leaders that strengthens the field of nonprofit and philanthropic research in order to improve civil society and human life.

British Sociological Association

• A professional and charitable organisation representing sociologists in Britain. Provides a network of communication to all who are concerned with the promotion and use of sociology and sociological research.

National Agricultural Statistics Service

• Based on the 2002 agricultural census, provides various tables by product and state. Also includes data from the 1997 and 1992 agricultural censuses.

Bureau of Justice Statistics

• Data on the U.S. murder rate, drug use, and crime rates, and reports on such subjects as violence against women, capital punishment, drugs and crime, guns used in crimes, and prison populations.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data

• "The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator initiated research projects to users for secondary statistical analysis. Founded in 1978 as part of the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the NACJD is supported by the Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) and the National Institute of Justice (NIJ) in the U.S. Department of Justice. "

Unemployment (Bureau of Labor Statistics)

• "The Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS) program produces monthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, States, counties, metropolitan areas, and many cities, by place of residence."

National Center for Education Statistics: Education Statistics at a Glance

• Provides "data from several NCES sources including: The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, Indicators of School Crime and Safety, and Projections of Education Statistics."

National Center for Health Statistics

• "Welcome to the National Center for Health Statistics' Web site, a rich source of information about America’s health. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information–-a critical element of public health and health policy."

Population Reference Bureau

• "PRB's country pages provide quick access to essential information on population, health, and the environment for over 200 countries. On each country page, you will find a fact sheet with demographic, health, and other development indicators, selected PRB reports or articles, and links to key sources of information, including the most relevant searchable databases on international development."

Poverty Guidelines: United States Department of Health and Human Services

• Presents the latest Federal poverty guidelines. Includes methodology and criteria of the guidelines and thresholds. Links to poverty research institutes are also provided.

Social Science Data Analysis Network

• "The Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) is a university-based organization that creates demographic media, such as user guides, web sites, and hands-on classroom computer materials that make U.S. census data accessible to policymakers, educators, the media, and informed citizens. SSDAN is directed by demographer William H. Frey and utilizes facilities at the Population Studies Center, University of Michigan. SSDAN activities have been supported by the National Science Foundation, the Annie E. Casey Foundation, the U.S. Department of Education Fund for the Improvement of Post Secondary Education (FIPSE), the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD), the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, Public Data Queries, Inc., and the U.S. Census Bureau"

U.S PopClock Projections (United States Census Bureau)

• Quick net gain in population (by second). Historical data also provided.