LibGuides: Research by Type: Reference Resources

Reference Resources

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online is the home of Grove Music Online, the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Oxford World's Classics This link opens in a new window
Oxford World’s Classics online initially provides access to 300 novels and other writings from the 18th and 19th century, to expert translations, to essential texts. Each edition uses an authenticated and reliable text, with full notes on the origins of the work, ensuring every OWC provides the most accurate representation of the work. Each OWC online also has an extensive introduction, supplementary material, perceptive commentary, and essential background reading. Includes Teacher Resources.
Grove Dictionary of Art Online. This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Provides constant additions of new material and updates to the original text, as well as extensive image links and sophisticated search advantages.

Usage Notes: Please logout of this resource when you're finished

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Find background information on many subject areas. Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, and videos. Provided by NC LIVE.
Data-Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Find data about U.S. companies. Identify company ownership and sales volume. Research local businesses and markets. Provided by NC LIVE.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database with full-text material including leading journals, research monographs, reference works and textbooks.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. Provided by NC LIVE.
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
A full-text literary database providing a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. It contains thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.
NCPedia This link opens in a new window
Information about North Carolina, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.

Provided by NC LIVE.
Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Includes access to Sage Reference.
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Launched by Oxford University Press in 1995, Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.Includes Teacher Resources.

Since the series was launched it has continued to offer new books each year for students and scholars, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable
What Everyone Needs to Know This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Press’s What Everyone Needs to Know® series offers a balanced and authoritative primer on complex current event issues and countries, spanning across popular topics and disciplines including Politics, Economics, Sciences, and Religion.

View a complete list of titles available online.

Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more. Provided by NC LIVE.

Visit MedLine Plus Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Visit MedlinePlus Español
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
This resource is essential for evaluating contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novices and professionals alike, it contains full-text reviews for test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. In addition, it provides a bibliography to all known, commercially available, English-language tests currently in print.
Merck Manual (Professional Edition) This link opens in a new window
Medical information on disorders, symptoms, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment. For medical professionals and students. Provided by NC LIVE.
NC Health Info This link opens in a new window
Online guide to quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina. Visit NC Health Info Español for Spanish. Provided by NC LIVE.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine. Provided by NC LIVE.