Find Articles - NURS 4000 - Nursing Research and Theory - LibGuides at University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Nursing Databases

The following are nursing specific databases and should be searched to locate high-quality peer reviewed articles. Students who are off-campus will need to log in using their BraveWeb/Canvas credentials to access the databases.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full Text database of nursing and allied health journals with additional indexed materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules. NOW INCLUDES: PICO Search.

Subjects: More than 300 new subject headings have been added to CINAHL to help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as new local terminology such as Aboriginal Canadians, First Nations of Canada, First Nations of Australia, and Torres Strait Islanders.
Health and Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles. Provided by NC LIVE.
HealthSource Nursing and Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics. Includes access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.

Subjects: pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect College Edition includes the Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, and Social Sciences and Humanities collections, and contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online reference works, handbooks and book series ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.

Pub Med Note

If you are a using of PubMed, please note that if you are on campus, it will link into our databases.

However, if you are off campus you will need to use the Citation Search or Journal Search in PRIMO to locate the full text.

This link (https://youtu.be/cWsYeum0pcc) will walk you through the process.