When looking for historical material, do not forget about letters and diaries. You can add the phrase "AND letters" or "AND diar*" to a search your historical event or person.
If you cannot locate a book in BraveCat, try WorldCat, a worldwide catalog, and order the book through InterLibrary Loan.
WorldCat is a global catalog which itemizes the collections of 71,000 libraries in over 112 countries. In the event that there are books you wish to borrow but are not part of the Mary Livermore Library's collections, you may search WorldCat to find them. When you find a book in WorldCat that you would like to borrow, record the bibliographic information about the item and request the material through the Interlibrary Loan service.
Mary Livermore Library offers access to a vast number of physical and electronic resources. However, sometimes the library doesn't buy access to that content. Instead we can borrow most books, articles, and occasionally, videos from other libraries. Typically there is no cost associated with an ILL request. If there is a cost, you will be notified and asked if you are willing to pay that cost before the item is ordered.
|
Begin Your Search Here
|
The following electronic reference collections are good places to get background information on your topic. Some of the titles may also be available in print. Off campus access is limited to UNCP students, faculty and staff.
Collection of ebooks covering history and literacy criticsim. Includes a large collection of slave narratives. Provided by NC LIVE.
The books listed below are a sample of the print resources located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the Mary Livermore Library.
