NURS 2020 - Critical Thinking in the Nursing Discipline

The following is a list of primary databases that can be searched for finding nursing journal articles and related information.

• CINAHL Plus with Full Text
  Provides indexing for more than 2,500 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for more than 300 journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. This database can be searched simulataneously with  Academic Search Complete, and Health Source: Nursing/Academic.

• Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  Provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, and provides abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals. Also includes integrated results from Clinical Pharmacology and access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary. This database can be searched simulataneously with Academic Search Complete, and CINAHL Plus with Full Text

• Science Direct College Edition Covers journals the Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, and Social Sciences and Humanities collections. This resource contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

The following is a list of other databases that may be consulted for finding journal articles on Nursing topics. Some databases are specific to disciplines other than nursing, and some are general in nature, meaning they index articles across many subjects and disciplines.

• Academic Search Complete
  A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,500 peer-reviewed journals. This database can be searched simulataneously with SPORTDiscus, CINAHL Plus with Full Text, and Health Source: Nursing/Academic.

  
  
• PsycINFO
  PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. This database should be used when researching athletic training topics that deal with psychology.

• PubMed
  PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.