LibGuides: ENG 3580 Professional Writing: Find Articles

Recommended Databases

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, essays, journal articles and government documents of the United States and Canada, pertaining to native North Americans, including culture, history and daily life. This resource is ideal for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding North America's Indigenous peoples.

Subjects: Archaeology, Gaming, Governance, Legend, Literacy, Multicultural relations

The following databases should be searched first when looking for journal articles on Native American and Health topics.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full Text database of nursing and allied health journals with additional indexed materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules. NOW INCLUDES: PICO Search.

Subjects: More than 300 new subject headings have been added to CINAHL to help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as new local terminology such as Aboriginal Canadians, First Nations of Canada, First Nations of Australia, and Torres Strait Islanders.
Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more. Provided by NC LIVE.

Visit MedLine Plus Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Visit MedlinePlus Español

APA PsycCollection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health from the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. Includes books and book chapters, dissertations, abstracts, international publications from more than 50 countries, and journals published in 29 languages. Current PDF or HTML full-text journal articles from across psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Current and historical context.

Subjects: behavioral science, mental health, neuroscience, business, nursing, law and education
SocINDEX Collection This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is a robust full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines, including social work, gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, and religion.

Social Work Abstracts: Abstracts from social work and related journals.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles from peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers on all subjects. Provided by NC LIVE.