LibGuides: Biology: Databases

Databases

Recommended Databases
Other Databases

Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life, biochemistry, ecology, botany, toxicology, virology, microbiology, and more. Provided by NC LIVE.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
An expansive index of journals, meetings, patents, and books in fields including biochemistry, genes, and taxonomic data.

Subjects: Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, anatomy, biochemistry, biophysics, botany, cell biology, ecology, evolution, genetics, human biology, microbiology, physiology, reproduction and sex, zoology, and more.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect College Edition includes the Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, and Social Sciences and Humanities collections, and contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Apart from online reference works, handbooks and book series ScienceDirect offers a rich journal collection of over 2,000 titles. In addition, the backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain 4 million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes 12,000+ journals in all disciplines, many of which can be found in full text at UNCP. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track references, and to find articles that share many resources in common.

Subjects:
•Science Citation Index, 1945-
•Social Sciences Citation Index, 1956-
•Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-
•New! Conference Proceedings Citation Index, 1990-

Agriculture and Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics. Provided by NC LIVE.
ArXiv This link opens in a new window
A curated research-sharing platform open to anyone. This is an open-access archive for 2,003,034 scholarly articles.

Subjects: Physics, Mathematics, Computer science (CoRR), Quantitative biology, Quantitative finance, Statistics, Electrical engineering and systems science, Economics
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and other sources on earth, atmosphere & aquatic science topics. Provided by NC LIVE.
Mary Ann Liebert This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of peer reviewed journals in the fields of biomedical research and life sciences, biotechnology, clinical medicine and surgery, complementary and alternative medicine, engineering and informatics, law, psychology, and public health and policy.