American Indian Studies

The Lumbee Indians; An Annotated Bibliography 

• List of Lumbee surnames with dates of appearance in the greater Lumbee Settlement - http://lumbee.library.appstate.edu/list-lumbee-surnames.

Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina 

• The Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina provides programs and services to all tribal members within the tribal service areas of Cumberland, Hoke, Robeson and Scotland county.

Online Census Records for Robeson County, NC 

• 1790-1920 online census records.

Robeson County NC GenWeb 

• The USGenWeb Archives was developed to help genealogists and family historians share information found in their research.

The Mary Livermore Library’s Special Collections and University Archives 

• Consist of rare and historic materials, as well as ongoing activities at the University. The collections cover a wide range of subject areas, including UNCP events and history, faculty scholarship, Lumbee history, and local history. Special Collections are available in-house Monday-Friday 8 am - 5 pm by appointment. 

American Indian History and Culture at Cornell University

• The centerpiece of Cornell's American Indian holdings is the Huntington Free Library Native American Collection, a spectacular gathering of more than 40,000 volumes on the archaeology, ethnology and history of the native peoples of the Americas from the colonial period to the present.

American Indian Library Association

• A curated list of freely available digital collection and library resources related to American Indian history

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection at the University of Washington

• An extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. These cultures have occupied, and in some cases still live in parts of Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana. Maps are available that show traditional territories or reservation boundaries.

Edward E. Ayer Digital Collection at the Newberry Library

• The Edward E. Ayer Digital Collection features several thousand digitized images and texts selected from the Ayer materials. An expansion of items previously available in the Ayer Art Digital Collection, Great Lakes Digital Collection, and North American Indian Photographs, this digital resource will grow as we continue to make these primary source documents freely available online.

Indian/Native Americans at National Archives

• This page contains links to American history relating to Native Americans.

The Institute for American Indian Studies Museum and Research Center

• The Collections at IAIS are divided into two categories, Ethnographic and Archaeological. Ethnographic items generally date to the near (Post-European contact) past. The objects were collected, purchased, bartered from or gifted by indigenous owners to others, and often passed down as heirlooms by indigenous and non-indigenous families. Archaeological items are mostly from below-ground archaeological sites.

National Museum of the American Indian

• The National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) has one of the most extensive collections of Native American arts and artifacts in the world. Current holdings include all major culture areas of the Western Hemisphere, representing virtually all tribes in the United States, most of those of Canada, and a significant number of cultures from Middle and South America and the Caribbean. The collections include works of aesthetic, religious, and historical significance as well as articles produced for everyday use.

Native American Artists Resource Collection at the Heard Museum

• Collection offers information on traditional to contemporary Native American artists, performers and writers. The collection contains selected biographical information found in 300 linear feet of physical files. Materials collected are business cards, journal and newspaper articles, photographs, digital files, resumes, exhibition catalogues, correspondence, documented interviews and gallery announcements to name a few. Each file also includes an artist biography report that provides basic biographical information, a list of the artist’s exhibitions, fairs and markets, awards and prizes, and citations to published resources about the artist based upon Library holdings.

Native American Resources in Special Collections at the University of Arkansas

• This is an overview of the manuscript and published resources pertaining to Native American history and culture available at the University of Arkansas Libraries Special Collections.

Native American Studies: Digital Collections at UC Berkeley

• Digital collections related to Native American Studies housed at UC Berkeley

American Indian Film Gallery 

• The AIFG presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest. The films range from a 1922 silent newsreel to recent footage of pow-wows and political meetings in 2011. The majority of the films date to the golden age of U.S. educational and sponsored filmmaking, after World War II up to the advent of portable video. Interestingly, the video age marks a shift in the collection from films about Native peoples to films by Native peoples. This historical span, then, allows for study of Native representation from outside and inside indigenous communities across the Americas over nearly a century. As such, it is an incomparable teaching and research tool for examining historical attitudes, representations, and understandings of indigenous populations across the Americas.

American Indians in Children's Literature 

• "This blog was established in 2006 and provides critical perspectives and analysis of indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society."

American Indian Tribes 

• Information about select nations and groups. There are over 500 different Native American nations recognized by the United States.

American Indian Scholarships 

• American Indian Scholarships applicable to NC Residents.

Catching the Dream Scholarship Fund 

• A 501c non-profit organization chartered in 1986,specializing in Native American scholarships.

Circle of Stories 

• Native American storytelling from the PBS.

Indianz 

• Native American news, information and entertainment. Wholly-owned and operated by Ho-Chunk Inc., the economic development corporation of the Winnebago Tribe.

National Congress of American Indians 

• The National Congress of American Indians, founded in 1944, is the oldest, largest and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.

National Museum of the American Indian  

• "The National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI) is an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego."

Native American Homepages 

• This resource provides links to WWW pages about, or maintained by, the various native nations. Pages are organized alphabetically by tribal name, and the list includes both federally recognized tribes and those that are not.

Native American Rights Fund 

• The Native American Rights Fund (NARF) is a non-profit 501c(3) organization that provides legal representation and technical assistance to Indian tribes, organizations and individuals nationwide - a constituency that often lacks access to the justice system. NARF focuses on applying existing laws and treaties to guarantee that national and state governments live up to their legal obligations. Includes National Indian Law Library.

Native Tech 

• An internet resource for indigenous ethno-technology focusing on the arts of Eastern Woodland Indian Peoples, providing historical & contemporary background with instructional how-to's & references.

North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs 

• The North Carolina Commission of Indian Affairs was created in 1971 by the North Carolina General Assembly in response to the requests of concerned Indian citizens from across the state.

Of the People: Widening the Path

• Connects the national library more deeply Black, Indigenous, Hispanic or Latino, Asian American and Pacific Islander, and other communities of color historically underrepresented in the United States and in the Library’s collections by expanding its collections, using technology to enable storytelling and offering more internship and fellowship opportunities.

Office of Indian Education 

• "The mission of the Office of Indian Education is to support the efforts of local educational agencies, Indian tribes and organizations, postsecondary institutions, and other entities to meet the unique educational and culturally related academic needs of American Indians and Alaska Natives so that these students can achieve to the same challenging state standards as all students."

Tribal Education Departments National Assembly, Co. (TEDNA) 

• "Started in 2003, TEDNA is a membership organization for the education departments of American Indian and Alaska Native Tribes. The founding of TEDNA has been supported by the Native American Rights Fund and the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Indian Education."

Turtle Talk 

• "Turtle Talk is the blog for the Indigenous Law and Policy Center at Michigan State University College of Law. We specialize in providing access to primary documents related to current topics in American Indian law and policy — court opinions and pleadings, federal government documents, scholarly materials, and other sources."

Unsettle 

• Posts by Kim TallBear, a frequent (social) media commentator, Indigenous public intellectual, and critic of settler-colonial politics and culture, about the politics of science and technology, environment, race, and sexuality.