EDUCATION: Academically or Intellectually Gifted (AIG): Home

If your professor recommends specific journals for your topic or if you have citations for articles you would like to read, you may search individual journals though the UNCP online subscriptions. Most journals are available in electronic format. On the Library Homepage, click the PRIMO box.  When PRIMO opens, click the tab Journal Search above the search box. Type in the title of the journal you would like to read and the results will typically display one or more links to subscription resources with full-text.  You may browse issues or search across all issues.

Alternatively, you can search Journal Titles through Browzine on this page. 

Searching in Databases Tips

• Research databases often contain some full-text.  If you see the PDF icon or "Linked Full-Text," then click there. You may see the phrase "Check for full-text availability."  When you click on that link, our library software checks all our journal subscriptions to provide you with a link. If "check for full-text" has no results, then you may order the article through Interlibrary Loan. 
• After entering a search term (keyword or subject) in a database search box, be sure to check the box indicating "peer-reviewed," refereed" or "scholarly journals."  This will limit the results to those type of articles.
• Research Databases assign Subject Headings to each article.  SUBJECT searching techniques will provide focused search results.
  • Use the ERIC Thesaurus to look up official ERIC search terms, known as DESCRIPTORS. The Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors (Thesaurus) is a controlled vocabulary - a carefully selected list of education-related words and phrases assigned to ERIC records to organize them by subject and make them easier to retrieve through a search. Searching by Descriptors involves selecting relevant terms from this controlled vocabulary to locate information on your topic.

Stream these films through UNCP subscriptions:

Online Video Resources

• Annenberg Learner 

  Teacher resources and professional development across the curriculum

• The Teaching Channel 

  Teaching Channel is a video showcase -- on the Internet and TV -- of innovative and effective teaching practices in America's schools.

• PBS Learning Media 

  Educational resources featuring PBS programming

• Accessible Television Portal 

  Free, video-on-demand children’s television programming for students who are blind, visually impaired, deaf or hard of hearing.

Library Video Databases 

These are links to a few sites that will help you format citations for the APA style. Most of the electronic resources you use will have an easy link to show you what the citation will look like in an APA format. But always remember, the instructor is the last word on the correct format for the citation.

Citation Guides

Research Help

The Mary Livermore Library offers many services and resources to assist the students of UNCP. We hope you use this guide to familiarize yourself with the research process and how the library can support you as you are looking for information without our resources. This guide will: 

• Help you get started researching and point you to library resources and how to use them
• Offer information about the research process
• Explain information literacy
• Introduce the library's general education and graduate research courses. 

Professional Organizations

• National Association for Gifted Students 

• North Carolina Association for the Gifted & Talented 

• Renzulli Center for Creativity, Gifted Education, and Talent Development 

• Center for Gifted Education Policy (APA) 

• Council for Exceptional Children 

State of North Carolina

• Division of Advanced Learning & Gifted Education 

• The NC AIG Program Standards 

• Governor's School of North Carolina

Open Educational Resources 

• OER Commons 

Open educational resources (OERs) are defined by UNESCO as "teaching, learning, and research materials in any medium, digital or otherwise, that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation, and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions." Strengths of OERs include that they are flexible, cost-free, and easily shared.

• Khan Academy Library 

• National Center on Accessible Educational Materials 

  How to create accessible OERs.

• Creative Commons 

National Resources

• AERA

The American Educational Research Association (AERA), a national research society, strives to advance knowledge about education, to encourage scholarly inquiry related to education, and to promote the use of research to improve education and serve the public good.

• ASCD

The Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (ASCD) is a membership organization that develops programs, products, and services essential to the way educators learn, teach, and lead.

• NEA

The National Education Association (NEA), the nation's largest professional employee organization, is committed to advancing the cause of public education. NEA's 3 million members work at every level of education—from pre-school to university graduate 

• IES: What Works Clearninghouse

Institute of Education Sciences

• NCES

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

• CAEP: Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Preparation