This guide will assist you in locating information on Native American populations. Be aware that depending on your topic there may be limited information on Lumbees and Native Americans in North Carolina.
WorldCat is a global catalog which itemizes the collections of 71,000 libraries in over 112 countries. In the event that there are books you wish to borrow but are not part of the Mary Livermore Library's collections, you may search WorldCat to find them. When you find a book in WorldCat that you would like to borrow, record the bibliographic information about the item and request the material through the Interlibrary Loan service.
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection contains the Native American studies titles listed below. Access the titles by clicking Subject category in ABC -CLIO eBooks and then Multicultural and Gender Studies. Click Native American Studies.
Articles concerning Native American topics can be found in databases both specific to Native Americans such as Bibliography of Native North Americans and subject specific databases. For instance if your topic concerned Native Americans and substance abuse, you would also search databases that covered substance abuse topics (listed under Social Work database subject page). Add the phrase "native american" to your keywords. For example, if your topic was Native Americans and substance abuse, you could search using the keywords "Native Americans" and substance abuse.
Remember not all databases have full text. To locate articles that are not full text in a database, use the "Check for full-text availability" feature.
Any article that is not available in print or electronically can be requested via InterLibrary Loan. Click Request Materials to begin this process.
The websites listed below contain information on a variety of Native American topics.
IHEC is the collective spirit and unifying voice of our nation's 37 Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs)—a unique community of tribally and federally chartered institutions working to strengthen tribal nations and make a lasting difference in the lives of American Indians and Alaska Natives. Since 1973, AIHEC serves its network of member institutions through public policy, advocacy, research, and program initiatives to ensure strong tribal sovereignty through excellence in American Indian higher education.
Indian Affairs (IA) is the oldest bureau of the United States Department of the Interior. Established in 1824, IA currently provides services (directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts) to approximately 1.9 million American Indians and Alaska Natives. There are 566 federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Natives in the United States. Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) is responsible for the administration and management of 55 million surface acres and 57 million acres of subsurface minerals estates held in trust by the United States for American Indian, Indian tribes, and Alaska Natives. Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) provides education services to approximately 42,000 Indian students.
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Publishing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII). The work was first published in 1903-04 by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Enhanced by the editors' use of margin notations and a comprehensive index, the information contained in Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties is in high demand by Native peoples, researchers, journalists, attorneys, legislators, teachers and others of both Native and non-Native origins.
Links to resources in a variety of areas.
This Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents. Project Coordinators are David Selden (NILL) and Marilyn Nicely (OU).
Links to individual tribes and Native American issues.
Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842, contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum, the Museum of the Cherokee Indian, and the LaFayette-Walker County Library. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.
Canadian Indigenous People
Our vision is of all who are affected by the legacy of physical, sexual, mental, cultural, and spiritual abuses in the Indian residential schools having addressed, in a comprehensive and meaningful way, unresolved trauma, putting to an end the intergenerational cycles of abuse, achieving reconciliation in the full range of relationships, and enhancing their capacity as individuals, families, communities, nations, and peoples to sustain their well being.
These sites will provide information about the indigenous people of Canada.
Since 1906, the Atlas of Canada has offered a rich treasury of geographic information for all Canadians. You'll find hundreds of online maps about Canada's environment, society, economy and history.
Homepage of the Canadian Broadcasting System.
This bibliography accompanies the exhibition Where are the Children? Healing the Legacy of the Residential Schools produced by the National Archives of Canada, the Aboriginal Healing Foundation and the Aboriginal Healing Charitable Association in collaboration with the National Library of Canada, numerous church and other archives presented at the National Archives of Canada in Ottawa from June 18, 2002 to February 3, 2003.
