This guide will assist you in locating resources on military social work topics.
Some resources are limited to UNCP faculty, staff, and students.
The article for class readings maybe found in the databases listed in red.
Cut and paste the article title to a seasrch box in the database listed. All library databases are listed under Find a Database on the library's Homepage.
You may need to remove punctuation marks (colons, semicolons, and question marks) from article titles when searching in a database.
The below electronic reference resources may have information about military social work.
|
Begin Your Search Here
|
WEEK 1:
Mattocks, K. M., et al. (2012). Women at war: Understanding how women veterans cope with combat and military sexual trauma. Social Science & Medicine, 74, 537-545.
SCIENCE DIRECT
Burk, J. & Espinoza, E. (2012). Race relations within the US military. Annual Review of Sociology, 38, 401-422
On Reserve--Link not working
Beckerman, N. (2012). Ethical Challenges when working with the military. In Beder, J. (Ed.). Advances in social work practice with the military (pp. 267-277). New York, NY: Routledge.
Book on Reserve
Bride, B. & Figley, C. R. (2009). Secondary trauma and military veteran caregivers. Smith College Studies in Social Work, 79, 314-329.
NO Access
WEEK 2:
Mittal, D. D. et al. (2013). Stigma associated with PTSD: Perceptions of treatment seeking combat veterans. Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal, 36, 86-92
PsycARTICLES
Week 3:
Bush, N. et al. (2013). Suicides and suicide attempts in the U.S. military 2008-2010. Suicide and Life-Threatening Behavior, 43, 262-273.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Jensen, R. (2013). Military suicidality and principles to consider in prevention. In Scurfield, R. M. & Platoni, K. T. (Ed.), War trauma and its wake: Expanding the circle of healing (pp. 156-171). New York, NY: Routledge.
Book on Reserve
Hamilton, A. B. Poza & Ines Washington, D. L. (2011). Homelessness and trauma go hand in hand. Pathways to homelessness among women veterans. Women's Health Issues, 21, 203-209
SCIENCE DIRECT
Demers, A. (2011). When veterans return: The role of community in reintegration. Journal of Loss and Trauma, 16, 160-179.
Academic Search Complete
Week 4:
Hall, J. C. (2009). Utilizing social support to conserve the fighting strength: Important considerations for military social workers. Smith College Studies in Social Work, 79, 335-343
NO ACCESS
Week 5:
LaMorie, J. H. (2012). Operation Iraqi freedom: Exploring wartime death and bereavement. In Beder, J. (Ed.), Advances in social work practice with the military (pp. 180-198). New York, NY: Routledge.
Book on Reserve
Cohen, J. A. et al. (2009). Military children: The sometimes orphans of war. In Freeman, S.M., Moore, B. A. & Freeman, A. (Ed.), Living and surviving in harm's way: A psychological treatment handbook for pre- and post-deployment of military personnel( pp. 395-416). New York, NY: Routledge.
Book on Reserve
ProQuest Social Science Database is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives.
Use the below databases to locate inform about social work with military and veterans.
