LibGuides: Graduate School Library Resources: Occupational Therapy (MSOT)

Occupational Therapy Videos

Web of Science indexes 12,000+ journals in all disciplines, many of which can be found in full text at UNCP. It allows researchers to determine who has cited whom, to track references, and to find articles that share many resources in common. This video demonstrates many of the advanced search options

Navigating the Cochrane Library, image of laptop, video title card

Searching the Cochrane Library; image of laptop; video title card

Navigating the Cochrane Library

(Traditional Chinese, Portuguese and Italian captions) Video Links Out

How to Use MeSH in the Cochrane Library

(Captions available in Portuguese, Spanish, and Italian) Video Links Out

Searching the Cochrane Library

(Captions available in Portuguese and Traditional Chinese) Video Links Out

Getting the most out of the Cochrane Library

Discover the complete Cochrane Library in Spanish (View, search, and discover content in Spanish by selecting the ‘Español’ option from the dropdown menu at the top of the homepage.)
Search and read in your preferred language (The language filter on the search results page enables you to view Cochrane. Reviews that have abstracts, summaries or other sections translated into one of 16 languages, including French and Portuguese, Chinese.)
Find Cochrane Clinical Answers (Use the basic search to discover Cochrane Clinical Answers related to any search topic.)
Share a search (Send a link to another user to let them run and view results of your search. Users who receive your search can send a shared link back adding their own comments and edits, or save the search.)
Easy access to commenting (Submit and view comments on Cochrane Reviews, Protocols, and Editorials.)
See the latest Cochrane Reviews at a glance (Use the ‘Highlighted Reviews’ section and the ‘View Current Issue’ link for a quick overview of new and updated Cochrane Reviews.)
Easily navigate across the whole collection in the Cochrane Library (Use the search results display to view relevant records across the complete Cochrane Library, including Cochrane Reviews and Protocols, Trials, Editorials, Special Collections, Cochrane Clinical Answers, and references to other systematic reviews through Epistemonikos.)
Staying up to date: Add in content alerts, topic alerts, search alerts (You can easily subscribe to content and topic email alerts that automatically notify you when new reviews or updates matching your search are added to the Cochrane Library.)
Additional resources at your fingertips (Related content, such as editorials and podcasts, are flagged in the right-hand navigation panel with a prominent drop-down link and a number in brackets denoting the number of related items.)

~Content taken from the Cochrane Library User Guide

RefWorks

RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool that is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. You can access Refworks with your library account through Primo.

Note: RefWorks requires free registration before you can use this resource. It is important to use Chrome, Edge, Firefox, or Safari as your browser as Internet Explorer is not supported.

Occupational Therapy Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online hosts a variety of video resources such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc, and covers a wide range of subjects, including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
Focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older. Includes journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos.
Subjects: Health sciences, Psychology, Sociology, Social work, Economics, Public policy
APA PsycCollection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health from the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. Includes books and book chapters, dissertations, abstracts, international publications from more than 50 countries, and journals published in 29 languages. Current PDF or HTML full-text journal articles from across psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Current and historical context.

Subjects: behavioral science, mental health, neuroscience, business, nursing, law and education
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full Text database of nursing and allied health journals with additional indexed materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules. NOW INCLUDES: PICO Search.

Subjects: More than 300 new subject headings have been added to CINAHL to help researchers find new concepts, including COVID-19, social distancing and vaping as well as new local terminology such as Aboriginal Canadians, First Nations of Canada, First Nations of Australia, and Torres Strait Islanders.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Content includes Systematic Reviews, Controlled Trials (bibliographic and abstracted material only) and Clinical Answers, a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
Health and Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles. Provided by NC LIVE.
HealthSource Nursing and Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
A full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics. Includes access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.

Subjects: pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sports Medicine Full-Text Journal Database including some indexed and abstracted journals on exercise, physiology, physical education and fitness, sports and sports medicine.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
This resource offers index and abstract information for scholarly and trade literature and covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology.

Coverage: 1970 - current

Graduate School Library Resources

Library Guides

Occupational Therapy

Additional Subject Resources

Occupational Therapy Videos

Occupational Therapy Databases