LibGuides: CRJ / SOC 4520 Women and Crime: Home

Searching for topics in sociology and criminal justice can sometimes be frustrating. These pages and the videos below will assist you with the research process.

If you have any questions, please contact us.

The video will assist you in search Criminal Justice Abstracts With Full Text and other EBSCO databases.

This video will assist you looking for peer reviewed articles in the ProQuest family of databases for CRJ/SOC 4520.

Search Hint #1

If you are looking for a qualitative, quantitative study, or empirical study, use PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO.

Scroll down to Methodology under Limit Your Results and select qualitative, quantitative, or empirical study.

Search Hint #2

Multiple EBSCO databases can be searched at one time by clicking the blue Choose Databases link above the search box.

Begin Your Search Here

Recommeded Databases

The following databases should be searched first when looking for sociological or criminal justice articles.

Remember not all databases have full text. To locate articles that are not full text in a database, use the "Check for full-text availability" feature in the database.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides top journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers.
APA PsycCollection This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health from the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present. Includes books and book chapters, dissertations, abstracts, international publications from more than 50 countries, and journals published in 29 languages. Current PDF or HTML full-text journal articles from across psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. Current and historical context.

Subjects: behavioral science, mental health, neuroscience, business, nursing, law and education
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Social Science Premium Collection provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
SocINDEX Collection This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is a robust full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines, including social work, gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, and religion.

Social Work Abstracts: Abstracts from social work and related journals.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Includes U.S. and international scholarly journals, correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.

Subjects: Crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Provided by NCLive.

Electronic Media

If you are looking for documentaries or films on your topic, try the below databases.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. Also includes content formerly in the NC LIVE Video Collection.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A video streaming services that offers over 30000 Documentaries, Classic and Indie Films.

Usage Notes: Click Sign Up or Log In once you are in Kanopy. Simply click "Sign Up with Google" and select your UNCP account.
If you experience issues accessing content while using Google Chrome, please try a different browser (Mozilla Firefox/ Microsoft Edge)