The resources located in this guide will assist in finding scholarly resources on the study of the history of sexuality.
Hst. 4120: History of Sexuality
Topics List for Poster Board Presentation
These topics are derived from our respective areas of historical specialty.
|
Catherine the Great’s of Russia’s Sexuality: Perception of and Reality Gender and Sexuality in Pre-Contact Indigenous Societies (pick a culture area) The Impact of Colonization on Indigenous Gender Roles and Sexualities Two Spirits in modern Pan-Indian culture Was Anne Boleyn Guilty of Adultery? The Stonewall Riots of 1969 Second Wave Feminism Sexuality and the Queen Caroline Affair Witch Hunts and Sexuality in Early Modern Europe or Colonial America Masters and Johnson and Human Sexuality The Pregnancies of Queen Anne of Great Britain Elizabeth I and the Dialogue of Courtly Love The Matrimonial Career of Mary, Queen of Scots The Role of Courtesans in Italian Renaissance politics Midwifery in Early Modern England or Colonial America Prostitution in Victorian Britain or the American West or GAPE America Cross-Dressing in Shakespeare’s Comedies Sexuality in the works of Geoffrey Chaucer James I of England and His Male Favorites The Adultery of Queen Catherine Howard of England The Marquis de Sade and Literary Pornography The Political influence of the Mistresses of Charles II of Great Britain John Wilmot, earl of Rochester and Aristocratic Libertinism The Unconventional Marriage of Georgiana Cavendish, Duchess of Devonshire |
Sexuality and Queenly Power in Early Modern Europe Marriage, Sexuality, and the Modern Civil Rights Movement The History of Sexuality in Vaudeville and Burlesque The History of Sexual Education in American Public Schools Contraception The History of Abortion Legislation The Birth Control Pill and “Women’s Liberation” in the 1960s Condoms- contextualize? Female Orgasm- contextualize? Pregnancy and Motherhood in the Antebellum South Sexuality and Disability Syphilis and Public Health Campaigns The HIV/AIDS Crisis Age of Consent Laws The History of the Modern Eugenics Movement The History of Compulsory Sterilization The Tuskegee Syphilis Study? The History of Boston Marriages Sexual Expression in the Harlem Renaissance Sexuality and Nineteenth-Century US Social Reform Movements The Sexual Revolution narrow focus here? Contextualization? Sex and College/University Students- narrow focus here? The Historical Impact of the Kinsey Report The 1950s Red Scare and Sexuality |
Search your topic in these electronic books. Some of the items we may also have in print. Some of the items you can download and other you can email, depending on the type of resource. These resources are limited to UNCP students, faculty, and staff.
Collection of ebooks covering history and literacy criticsim. Includes a large collection of slave narratives. Provided by NC LIVE.
Academic articles will not be freely available through a web search. If you find these items doing a web search you will be asked to pay to access them. The library’s web page provides the access point for these academic sources. Primo, the library’s catalog, provides access to articles available in the library; however, the cornerstone of most academic research is peer reviewed (scholarly) journal articles and these may be found more readily through subject specific databases. The databases in the A-Z Database list are listed by title and can be filtered by subject, type, and vender. Use the below databases to find articles on sexuality.
Dissertations and theses maybe used in research, but consult your instructor before using. Dissertations and theses may provide citations to lead you to research articles.
Newspapers may provide opinions and stories about alternative sexualities and public opinions from various times and places.
Mary Livermore Library offers access to a vast number of physical and electronic resources. However, sometimes the library doesn't buy access to that content. Instead we can borrow most books, articles, and occasionally, videos from other libraries. Typically there is no cost associated with an ILL request. If there is a cost, you will be notified and asked if you are willing to pay that cost before the item is ordered.
