LibGuides: ENG 2470 Pre 1790 British Literature: Find Websites

Websites for British Literature

The following is a list of websites on various women's literature sources. While some of the information from these websites is considered legitimate for academic purposes, the content should be thoroughly evaluated by the reader to detect inaccuracies, irrelevance, currency, and bias. Individual authors may have websites.

ABO: Interactive Journal for Women in the Arts, 1640-1830
ABO: Interactive Journal for Women in the Arts, 1640-1830 (ISSN 2157-7129) ABO: Interactive Journal for Women in the Arts, 1640-1830 (ISSN 2157-7129) is an online journal that serves as a forum for interactive scholarly discussion on all aspects of women in arts between 1640 and 1830, especially literature, visual arts, music, performance art, film criticism, and production arts. The journal features peer-reviewed articles encompassing subjects on a global range and is intended for scholars and students.
Beowulf in Hypertext
Presents Beowulf in both Old English and Modern English. Also includes an in-depth examination of the epic poem and its historical context as well as related documents and links.
British and Irish Authors on the Web
This site provides links to author’s sites. It is searchable from time period.
Chaucer Metapage
Provides a bibliography as links to full text of Chaucer's work.
Digital Defoe
Digital Defoe is envisioned as a hybrid mediator, as an extension of, or a critical supplement to, print and not as a substitution for any of the academic journals or newsletters that helpfully push our field to new levels of understanding. It is committed to making the best use of new and continually evolving digital technologies in addressing the life and works of Defoe and his contemporaries. Unlike the pricey databases accessible only to those working in universities with big budgets, Digital Defoe is a publicly accessible, subscription-free peer-reviewed journal and online forum which all those working in higher and secondary education, as well as those outside of academia, are welcome to join.
Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to resources in medieval studies. The Labyrinth’s easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne’s thread through the maze of information on the Web.
Luminarium: Medieval, Renaissance, and 17th Century Literature
This site offers a listing of authors writing in Medieval, Renaissance, and 17th Century. Each author has a link to a biography, list of works, essays and articles, and additional research.
SHAKSPER: The Global Electronic Shakespeare Conference
"SHAKSPER, the international electronic conference for Shakespearean researchers, instructors, students, and those who share their academic interests and concerns. SHAKSPER is a moderated mailing list edited by Hardy M. Cook." Includes scholarly papers concerning all aspects of the study of Shakespeare.
Shelley-Godwin Archive
The Shelley-Godwin Archive will provide the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, bringing together online for the first time ever the widely dispersed handwritten legacy of this uniquely gifted family of writers.
The Geoffrey Chaucer Webpage (Harvard University)
Presents Chaucer's works in annotated Middle English, as well as biographical and related historical information. Also includes a self-paced tutorial, "Teach Yourself to Read Chaucer's Middle English.