HST 3000 Introduction to the Study of History

The following electronic reference collections are good places to get background information on your topic. Some of the titles may also be available in print.  Off campus access is limited to UNCP students, faculty and staff.

• ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
  Contains texts on American History, World History, and Military History among others.  View these books by clicking Subject category in ABC -CLIO eBooks and then the appropriate subject.
  
  
• Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
  Brings together Oxford's core collection of renowned reference works into a single cross-searchable resource with an expanding range of key titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
  
  
• SAGE  Reference Online
  A collection of over 35 encyclopedias and handbooks covering a variety of topics in the social sciences and medicine.
  
  
• Salem Press History Collection
  Access to the following Salem Press titles online: Milestone Documents in American History, The Seventies in America, The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, Great Lives from History: The Ancient World, Prehistory-476 c.e., Great Lives from History: The Middle Ages, Great Lives from History: Renaissance & Early Modern Era, 1454-1600, Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives, Great Lives from History: The Seventeenth Century, Great Lives from History: The Nineteenth Century, Great Lives from History: The Eighteenth Century, and Great Events from History: Modern Scandals.