WorldCat is a global catalog which itemizes the collections of 71,000 libraries in over 112 countries. In the event that there are books you wish to borrow but are not part of the Mary Livermore Library's collections, you may search WorldCat to find them. When you find a book in WorldCat that you would like to borrow, record the bibliographic information about the item and request the material through the Interlibrary Loan service.
This resource will assist you with researching topics on Native American issues and issues pertaining to Canadian Aboriginal People. This guide you will help you locate books, print reference sources, article databases, and websites.
Click on a tab below to go to the various resources.
To help develop your understanding of a topic and build knowledge of concepts and keywords that might be used, you may want to consult a subject specific encyclopedia or dictionary found in the Reference Collection. See the Book tab for subject specific resources.
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection contains the Native American studies titles listed below. Access the titles by clicking Subject category in ABC -CLIO eBooks and then Multicultural and Gender Studies. Click Native American Studies.
Articles concerning Native American topics can be found in databases both specific to Native Americans such as Bibliography of Native North Americans and subject specific databases. For instance if your topic concerned Native Americans and gambling, you would also search databases that covered business topics (listed under Business database subject page) and social work databases (listed under the Social Work subject databases). Add the phrase "native american" to your keywords. For example, if your topic was Native Americans and casinos, you could search business and social work using the search "Native Americans" and casino.
Remember not all databases have full text. To locate articles that are not full text in a database, use the "Check for full-text availability" feature.
Any article that is not available in print or electronically can be requested via Interibrary Loan.
The following databases should be searched first when looking for journal articles on Native American topics. Information on Canadian Aboriginal topics may be included as well.
These databases may also provided information on Native American and Canadian Aboriginal topics.
These databases are primarily newspaper databases. Use them to locate articles on your topics. Remember you can limit your search to a specific date range.
Google Scholar can be searched to finding scholarly article citations through Google. Use keywords as you would in any other article database. When available, article citations can be linked to the full-text record in the library's collections as long as the user is on campus.
Online Resources
The websites listed below contain information on a variety of Native American topics.
The Tribal Court Clearinghouse is a comprehensive website established in June 1997 to serve as a resource for American Indian and Alaska Native Nations, American Indian and Alaska Native people, tribal justice systems, victims services providers, tribal service providers, and others involved in the improvement of justice in Indian country. It is one of the most comprehensive websites on tribal justice system issues, and includes a wealth of tribal, state, and federal resources. The Clearinghouse website contains extensive resources on tribal, state, and federal law along with extensive Indian country subject-matter resources, a training events calendar, and resources from all Tribal Law and Policy Institute webinars.
Canadian Indigenous People
These sites will provide information about the indigenous people of Canada.
These resources contain videos and video clips about academic numerous topics. These resources may be limited to UNCP students, faculty, and staff.
A video streaming services that offers over 30000 Documentaries, Classic and Indie Films.
Usage Notes: Click Sign Up or Log In once you are in Kanopy. Simply click "Sign Up with Google" and select your UNCP account.
If you experience issues accessing content while using Google Chrome, please try a different browser (Mozilla Firefox/ Microsoft Edge)
