Skip to Main Content

AIS 3600: Home

AIS 3600

Census Areas Robeson County

Special Collections Appointments

Click here to schedule an appointment with Special Collections

Useful Resources

The books below are in the Reference Collection in the Livermore Library. Reference books cannot be checked out.

Mary Livermore Library owns microfilm copies of Population schedules of the from 1790 to 1860. These are filed under North Carolina in microfilm cabinets.

The books below are held in the Genealogy Room of the Robeson County Public Library. They cannot be checked out.

 

Mary Livermore Library’s Special Collections and University Archives consist of rare and historic materials, as well as ongoing activities at the University. The collections cover a wide range of subject areas, including UNCP events and history, faculty scholarship, Lumbee history, and local history. The collections include The Elmer W. Hunt Photograph Collection, the first college catalogs, UNCP yearbooks, and bibliographies of campus scholarship.

Special Collections and University Archives is open Tuesday - Friday from 1-5 pm or by appointment. If you need materials pulled for research from the collections, an appointment is recommended.

If you are looking for land deeds, the county Registrar of Deeds should contain information. Some counties have software that will allow you to search their records. Below are links to several area Register of Deeds offices.  Be sure to notes dates of coverage for deed books. Not all deed books can be access electronically.

To search deeds and land grants, you may need to visit public libraries. Most public libraries collect local history and genealogical records and books. Few academic libraries collect such items. Local history museums may also contain local history and genealogical materials.