E-Reference books may provide access to reference sources. Some of these books are also available in print.
- ABC-CLIO Ebooks
Over 200+ ebooks covering a broad range of subjects.
- American Indian Experience
The American Indian Experience (AIE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States.
- Biography Reference Bank
Biography Reference Bank contains biographical information on more than half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. It contains the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books.
- Biography Reference Center
Biography Reference Center™ offers a comprehensive collection of more than 461,000 full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of narrative biographies.
- CQ Researcher
The most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, all the pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- English Poetry
The original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
- Faber Poetry Library
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century.
- Historical Abstracts of the United States
This definitive reference work contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert.
- Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society
Selected primary and secondary sources on the most enduring and timely issues of the day.
- Latino American Experience
The Latino American Experience (LAE) is a full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of U.S. Latinos.
- Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium Edition
Brings together Oxford's core collection of renowned reference works into a single cross-searchable resource with an expanding range of key titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
- Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. Each of the main essays includes links to related full-text articles hand-picked by the editor.
- Pop Culture Universe
More than 300 full-text volumes of material related to popular culture both current and historical.
- Sage E-reference
A collection of over 35 encyclopedias and handbooks covering a variety of topics in the social sciences and medicine.
- Salem Press Health Collection
Access to the following Salem Press title(s) online: Psychology & Mental Health.
- Salem Press History Collection
Access to the following Salem Press titles online: Milestone Documents in American History, The Seventies in America, The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, Great Lives from History: The Ancient World, Prehistory-476 c.e., Great Lives from History: The Middle Ages, Great Lives from History: Renaissance & Early Modern Era, 1454-1600, Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives, Great Lives from History: The Seventeenth Century, Great Lives from History: The Nineteenth Century, Great Lives from History: The Eighteenth Century, and Great Events from History: Modern Scandals.
- Salem Press Literature Collection
Access to the following Salem Press titles online:Critical Insights: Authors Isabel Allende James Baldwin Charles Dickens Benjamin Franklin Stephen King Arthur Miller John Steinbeck Critical Insights: Works All Quiet on the Western Front Canterbury Tales, The House on Mango Street, The One Hundred Years of Solitude Poetry of Poe Slaughterhouse-Five Things Fall Apart Critical Surveys Long Fiction American Poets British, Irish, & Commonwealth Poets European Poets World Poets Cumulative Indexes, Poetry Topical Essays, Poetry
- Salem Press Science Collection
Access to the following Salem Press titles online: Applied Science and the Encyclopedia of Energy.
- Something About the Author
Examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
- Supreme Court Collection
Part of Legal Information Institute (LII). Contains all U.S. Supreme Court opinions issued since May 1990 (FindLaw is the source for decisions prior to 1990). In addition, there is a historic collection of approximately 600 of the most important cases, which can be accessed by party name, topic, and opinion author.
- 20th Century African-American Poetry
A database of modern and contemporary African-American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Features 10,000 poems by around 70 of the most important African-American poets of the last century.
- 20th Centruy American Poetry
This collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
- 20th Century English Poetry
Modernist poems (1900-1999): W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Wilfred Owen, Robert Graves, A.E. Housman, D.H. Lawrence, Carol Ann Duffy, and more.
- World History: Ancient World History
Covers human history in all corners of the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance.
- World History: Modern World History
Covers human history in all corners of the globe from Renaissance to current.
