What's new Distance Education Services at UNCP
Last Updated: May 18, 2016
(image from http://www.goellnerprinting.com/images/resources/whats_new/guy_with_books.png)
Curious to see who the real main character of Game of Thrones is? See the below article from a pair of mathematicians.
The articles listed below may only be available to students, faculty and staff affilated with UNCP. Citation information is located in a pop-up window.
- Toward a Theory of Emotive Performance: With Lessons from How Politicians Do Anger
This 2010 article treats the public display of emotion as social performance. The concept of “emotive performance” is developed to highlight the overlooked quality of performativity in the social use of emotion. We argue that emotive performance is reflexive, cultural, and communicative. As an active social act, emotive performance draws from the cultural repertoire of interpretative frameworks and dominant narratives
- Racialized campaign ads: The emotional content in implicit racial appeals primes White racial attitudes.
Despite pundits and scholars suggesting that racial appeals play to voters’ emotions, very little is known about the emotional impact of these appeals. Most of the research on racial priming seems to conflate the effect of negative emotions. Our theory suggests that anger and fear, in the context of an implicit racial appeal, influence whites’ views about race differently. We suspect this effect occurs because anger and whites’ negative racial attitudes are tightly linked in memory. Using an experiment over two waves, we induce anger and fear from an implicit racialized campaign ad and find that anger uniquely boosts opposition to racial policies among white racial conservatives. We also find that anger from an implicit racial appeal motivates racial liberals to be more supportive of racial policies
Waiting for that brilliant insight?
Contact the Librarians at the Reference Desk!
As the semester winds downs and all those papers come due, contact the the librarians at the Reference Desk!
Graduate, online and distance educations students email Michael Alewine or Robert Arndt.
Check out the new ProQuest Databases provided by NC LIVE. Begin at ProQuest Central. Click the Database link of a Prquest database and select all or specific databases to search. ProQuest databases cover a wide variety of subjects. Check these out ! Additonal ProQuest Databases are available.
- ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
- Criminal Justice Periodicals
Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
- ProQuest Education Journals
Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics. Access to 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.
- ProQuest Biology Journals
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United Stat